Dreams Come True

After chewing Extra Key Lime Pie sugar free gum, and slurping on the sugar free Key Lime Creme Slurpee, I needed to come up with a recipe for a real one! I did a lot of investigating on this classic treat, because I’ve never actually had it!

Getting a crust for this bad boy, was no worry, but the filling… thats where I hit a wall. In my head, my sister is the Key Lime Pie Guru, and uses condensed milk. Other recipes use whipped cream, yogurts, cream cheese, egg, and cornstarch, to name a few ingredients. Now, where should I begin?

The topping was inspired by these meringues.

Sublime Key Lime Bundo PieWP_003365

serves 8

The Crust:

  • 1 cup Fiber One Original bran cereal
  • 2 sheets (8 crackers) low-fat honey graham crackers (thats 4 squares)
  • 3 tbsp. granulated Splenda
  • 1/4 cup Brummel & Brown yogurt spread, or another light butter spread
  • 2 Tbsp water

The Filling:

  • 1/4 tsp lime zest
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 limes, at least (1/4 cup juice needed)
  • 1 4 serving box sugar free, fat free lime jello mix
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • 3/4 cup OIKOs plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 1/4 cup fat free Cool Whip, thawed

The Topping:

  • 1/2 cup fat free cool whip, thawed
  • 1 Tbsp sugar free fat free white chocolate pudding mix
  • 1 Tbsp shredded coconut (all I had was sweetened), toasted
  • 3/4 tsp lime zest

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Begin the filling by juicing two limes to produce  about 1/4 cup, and combine with 1/2 cup water, and   1/4 tsp lime zest in a small pot, over medium heat, with box of gelatin. Stir until completely dissolved and transfer pot into ice bath. Continue to stir to release heat. Gradually fold into yogurt and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, giving it the occasional stir.

WP_003363 WP_003364

WP_003366Combine butter with water and microwave until just melted. Place cereal and graham crackers in a food processor and grind. Transfer to a bowl, and add Splenda. Add the melted watered butter to the bowl of sweetened crumbs and mix thoroughly. Spray a pie pan heavily with nonstick spray and evenly distribute the crust mixture along the bottom and sides of the pie pan. Press firmly to form the crust. Bake for 10 minutes. Set aside to cool.

While the crust is in the oven and the filling is setting, combine Cool Whip and white chocolate pudding mix in a bowl. Transfer mix into a zip lock plastic bag or piping bag and refrigerate.

Once lime mix has cooled, whisk in the Cool Whip until the congealed yogurt and whipped cream are one thick, smooth filling. Pour into cooled crust and use the back of a spoon or spatula to evenly spread. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Spray a skillet with nonstick spray and toast the coconut over medium heat, tossing continuously. (The aroma, alone, is enough to put you on cloud 9). Set aside to cool.

WP_003371 WP_003372

Pipe the sweet white chocolate Cool Whip onto cooled and settled pie and garnish with lime zest and toasted coconut. Slice and enjoy!

But, Sammy! Theres so much topping left! What should I do? Either keep on decorating of take my lead and eat it with a spoon and fruit!

WP_003374 WP_003375

Nutrition (1 slice, 1/8 of the pie):

Calories: 106, Fat: 3.1g, Sat. Fat: 0.7g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 175mg, Carbs: 17.3g, Fiber: 2.4g, Sugar: 3.5g, Protein: 3.1g

WP_003384

This pie was so light and tart! It is the perfect summer treat! Everyone enjoyed it… Well, they must have because it went pretty quickly!

WP_003385 WP_003386

I was really excited about Frank enjoying it. He is usually my brutal critic, which I appreciate (and despise). He said I didn’t need to change anything! Yay! I am particularly proud of this recipes for two reasons.

1. I have only had 1 bite of Key Lime Pie before in my life.

2. I had a dream, jumped out of bed, wrote down what I had dreamed about, and that dream turned into this pie! (I guess my mind is still working when I sleep).

One thought on “Dreams Come True

Leave a comment