Calzone or Pizza?

Yesterday, I had every intention of a new recipe for you and I was really excited about it, but….

WP_003389My day began early with and orange banana shake (I prepared one for Frank for when he got up) and a trip to my moms new job. It was followed by lots of food shopping for her and then a doctors appointment. The doctor was really excited to see me healthy and at an ideal weight! By the time I left, the shake had definitely worn off and i was hungry! I grabbed a snack bar and slammed like 30oz of lemonade… NOT a good idea. By the time I got home, I felt terrible and got sick! I think there was just too much acid at one time from the lemonade.

This totally sucked since my dinner involved tomatoes and I decided to stick with soup. I actually made another batch of Italian Peasant Soup since I had so much cabbage left, and a half grilled cheese. It did the trick and dad and Frank were more than happy to benefit from it.

Note to self: Italian Peasant Soup cures belly aches.

Of course, even though I was full, snacky Sammy snuck up…

I’m not kidding when I tell you that I looked like a rabbit, tearing off 1 leaf at a time off a head of romaine lettuce and dipping it into salsa! (Which was genius and all since salsa has absolutely ZERO acidity!)~ that was sarcasm…

Today began rather early for a Saturday, as I picked up a shift for a girl at work. After my cup of coffee, made with my new Cashew Milk (35 calories a cup), and rounds, my tummy began sending me the “feed me” signal. I microwaved some liquid eggs substitute, while toasting a cinnamon raisin bagel thin. As odd as it sounds, I spread a tablespoon of sugar free orange marmalade on the toast, popped my micro-egg on there and had  a delicious breakfast sandwich that lasted me until about 1pm.

WP_003394 WP_003395

WP_003396The girls always order out on the weekend shifts, but I was determined to stick with my lunch. But watching them eat Seasons salads and calzones made me really want a calzone from the place, as I ate my turkey and pepper romaine wraps.

One of my favorite calzones is ham, spinach, and ricotta. I had ricotta, ham, and spinach in the refrigerator… What is a Bundo to do? To take my mind off the intensity of studying and work, I did one of the things I do best: Cook!

Do I make the calzone or whip up a pizza?

I opted for the later since I’ve had it in dough, but never on top of it!

I picked up a super huge head of cauliflower from the farmers market. I’m serious! Talk about a “head!” Its as big as mine! And guess who has enough for another pizza?

WP_003397

Ham and Spinach Pizza

serves 8

The Crust:

  • 1 medium to large cauliflower, chopped
  • 1/4 cup liquid egg substitute
  • 3/4 cup shredded fat free mozzarella, further chopped
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp dried parsley
  • 2 clove garlic, minced (1 tsp minced)

The Toppings:WP_003409

  • 1/2 cup pizza sauce
  • 3/4 cup fat free ricotta cheese
  • 3/4 tsp Italian Seasoning
  • 1 tsp garlic, minced
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 2 cups (85g) fresh spinach, finely chopped
  • 8 slices 98% fat free ham, or low sodium
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp fat free shredded mozzarella
  • basil for sprinkling

Steam the cauliflower with 1/3 cup water in a microwave safe bowl covered with plastic wrap. Microwave about 9 minutes. Carefully transfer the steamed cauli into a food processor and blend until the cauliflower is a rice consistency. You should have about 2 1/2 cups of “riced” cauliflower. Mix that with egg, cheese and spices. The mixture will form a dough like consistency. Spread the dough on a hot pizza stone or a baking sheet (my least favorite part- it may take a bit of work to finally smooth out) and put in the oven for about 20 min at 400.

WP_003398 WP_003399

Next, roll ham slices, slice lengthwise, then across the two halves until a bunch of hammy shredded are made. Set aside. In a small bowl, combine ricotta with garlic, a handful if the chopped spinach, Italian seasoning, and black pepper. Set side. Pull out the crust and using a spatula, ensure it is not sticking to the pan/stone. Spread a large spoonful of the ricotta mix on the crust along with the mozzarella. Dollop sauce and remaining ricotta mix around. Top with ham and the remaining spinach.Sprinkle some dried basil over the whole pizza and put it back in the oven for another 5 to 10 min.

WP_003404 WP_003406 WP_003407

Slice and serve.

WP_003408 WP_003410

One thought on “Calzone or Pizza?

  1. Pingback: Boli!!!! | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

