Broke Italiano

This is that week before I get paid… AKA Broke Week.

I also worked a 12 last night, so you would think lazy would be my mood. In all actuality, I got a great nap and woke ready to hang in the kitchen!

During my last hour of work, my stomach started talking to me and I got a mean hankering for an omelet. I don’t know if I’ve even ran to the kitchen so fast upon getting home. I chopped up mushrooms and onions, and since Frank was home, I threw ham and cheddar in egg, for him, and roast beef and swiss for me! Oh ma gosh! My omelet was so cheesy and delicious! I ate it with a handful of onion chips.

WP_003359 WP_003361

I began to feel snacky and said to myself, Sammy! You’re a sleepy snacker. Go to bed! I hit the shower and had an amazing rest. In fact, Frank woke me up and I was so confused I asked, “Wait, what day is it?”  After an errand with Frank, I spent the remainder of the day in the kitchen whipping up a broke Italian’s dinner, and an experimental dessert (recipe to come)!

Are you strapped for cash? Are you a guido? Well have I got a dinner for you!

(pretty decent pitch, huh?)

WP_003353Italian Peasant Soup

serves 8

  • 2 15oz cannellini beans (white kidney beans), small white beans will also do
  • 1/2 Tbsp EVOO
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 5 packed cups savoy cabbage, chopped to various sizes
  • 1 1/2 oz baby carrots, slivered (about 1/3 – 1/2 cup) (optional)
  • 4 cloves garlic, or 2 tsp minced*
  • 5 1/4 cups broth, vegetable or chicken
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 4 tsp reduced fat grated Parmesan, divided
  • 4-8 slices wheat bread, or your preference (optional)

Drain and rinse the beans. Heat EVOO in a covered soup pot, along with chopped onion and carrots, on low. (Slow and steady). Stir occasionally, to minimize the potential for burning the onion. Cook only until the onion has softened and is slightly browned and translucent. Meanwhile, mash 1 1/2 cups of drained, rinsed beans with a fork and set aside. Add the cabbage and garlic, recover, and steam down, until wilted, continually tossing the contents of the pot.

WP_003370WP_003376

Pour in the broth, and both the whole and mashed beans. Bring to a simmer. Partially cover the pot, reduce the heat to medium-low, and cook until cabbage is tender. Then season with pepper.

If desired, and it usually is, toasted bread lightly, rubbed with a garlic clove or sprinkled with garlic powder. Ladle the soup over the  toast and sprinkle each bowl with 1/2 tsp with grated cheese.

*Garlic Help: 1 clove = 1 teaspoon chopped garlic = 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic = 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder = 1/2 teaspoon garlic flakes = 1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic = 1/2 teaspoon garlic juice

WP_003377WP_003378 WP_003380

I love the aromas the vegetables release and watching the green really pop its color! I could not believe how much I enjoyed the soup! Mom liked, and Frank went back for seconds! It was full of nutrients, protein, and fiber and really filled me up! Its hard to believe all of these delicious flavors all came from boiling some vegetables!

One thought on “Broke Italiano

  1. Pingback: Backstreets Back | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

