Lady Orange Marmalade

Come on… I can not be the only one who thinks of “Voulez-vous coucher avec moi” whenever I read the word marmalade.

Oh well… its a great song, and this recipe makes do a happy dance just as much as my girl Patti LaBelle does!

The other morning, I saw a lonesome orange in the fridge and, running late for work, grabbed that to go. As I sat at the table, devouring this sweet and juicy navel orange, I began to think about the remaining orange rind. If I were home, the rind would go into a compost pile, but at work… Well, I just feel sort of guilty throwing it away… I put it in a baggy, and then it hit me… marmalade!!

Orange marmalade, when I was a young kid, sort of put me off since, up to that point, I was always taught not to eat my orange peels, and now, your spreading it on my toast! Does anyone remember being a little kid out to breakfast playing with the little Smuckers jams and jellies in the brown holder next to the salt, pepper, and sugar?

Anyway, with the last of my oranges now in my stomach, I quickly devised a plan. Its easier than an marmalade recipe yo’ll find out there!

(Lady) Orange Marmalade

makes a 16oz jarWP_008639

  • 1 navel orange peel
  • 1 can Libby’s (skinny fruits) mandarin orange slices
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup granulated Splenda
  • 2 Tbsp no sugar needed pectin

Drain the can of mandarin oranges, reserving the juice (approximately 2 cups of juice or so). Transfer the drained oranges to a food processor and puree. Pour the juice into a small saucepan.

Using a pearing knife, or another fine knife, cut the pith from the orange rind, as best as possible. Once only the orange rind remains, finely slice the peel into strips. Then mince these strips. Transfer chopped peel to the pot with the juice, and bring to a boil. (I suppose you could simply zest an orange, bu that sounds like a hand cramp to me… plus, I really like the authenticity of the peel in the jelly).

WP_008641

While awaiting a boil, add the cinnamon and vanilla to the pureed oranges and briefly pulse until incorporated. Once the juice has come to a boil, add the pureed spiced oranges and stir. Keep pot at a boil, and quickly whisk in the pectin and Splenda. Turn off heat, continuing to whisk, to blend as  well as release some heat.

Pour the mixture into you prepared mason jar. Tighten the lids to a finger-tightness. If you have a canner,now is the time to use it… If not? Follow along:

In a large pot, place the sealed jar, and fill the pot with enough water to cover the top of the jar. Bring the water to a boil. Check on the jar every few minutes. Use a utensil to poke the center of the lid. If the lid dips when pressure is applied, continue to boil, rechecking the lid every few minutes. Once the lid are solid and no longer “pops,” turn off the heat, and carefully remove the jar, using tongs, and allow the jar to cool at room temp. Then you can refrigerate.

Nutrition (per tablespoon):

Calories:10, Fat: 0g, Sat. Fat: 0g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 0mg, Carbs: 3g, Fiber: 0g, Sugars: 2g, Protein: 0g

WP_008690

The right amount of citrus blended with the right amount of sweetness, paired with that refreshing bite and texture of the orange zest! I won’t lie… I have eaten this off the spoon.

Leave a Reply

