Blueberry Waffles

My mom and I have a bit of a love for blueberries, but my mom is especially obsessed with Eggo Blueberry Waffles.

I based this recipe off my Easter Carrot Cake Waffles.

My mom was so excited when I told her last night that I wanted to make waffles in the morning, and not the frozen kind! She turned into me! She started coming up with all these different pairings and toppings and ideas. I was so proud! Haha!

I hope you enjoy!

Blueberry Waffles

makes 12 wafflesWP_007610

  • 3/4 cup Bisquick (Heart Smart, if you have it)
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Splenda brown sugar blend
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 cup flax milk (milk of your choice)
  • 1/4 cup sugar free syrup, plus 1 Tbsp
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Warm up the waffle iron and ensure it is coated heavily by non stick cooking spray. Combine the dry ingredients. Place the frozen blueberries in the microwave for 15 sec, just enough to start to thaw. Transfer the blueberries to a food processor immediately and give it a few pulses (just enough to break the berries, but not puree them). Whisk the milk, sugar free syrup, and vanilla into the dry ingredients, followed by the pulse blueberries. Using a 3/4 cup measuring cup, pour the batter directly on the center of your well-coated waffle iron. Close the lid and cook to your liking. Repeat the spooning of the batter two more times, ensuring the iron is coated in between each application.

Nutrition: 1 waffle

Calories:56, Fat: 1.3g, Sat. Fat: 0g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 158mg, Carbs: 10g, Fiber: 0.8g, Sugars: 0.7g, Protein: 1.2g

Mom had the idea to top our waffles with an egg over easy. I was game. We drizzled just a bit of our syrup over top the finished product and it created just the right about of sweet to balance that savory yolk! And the flavor of blueberry was scattered all throughout the waffles!

WP_007605 WP_007608

After mom and our devoured these waffles, I started thinking how light they would have tasted with some lemon zest or how much of a treat they would be with some white chocolate chips! My mom yelled into the kitchen, “Now we need ice cream to sandwich between them!” When my mom likes my food, its a success!

WP_007609

The waffles wound up being our lunch, as well. But this time, I spread a ripe banana all over it!

Leave a Reply

