La-La-Leftovers

So its almost been a week since Thanksgiving, and all of the leftovers are gone. My sweet potato casserole, made with butternut squash, is a huge hit so I make two trays every year. This year, I didn’t go to my grandmothers house like usual, but I made two trays nonetheless. I started thinking What should I do with this leftover casserole???

Then it hit me! Pancakes!  Mom brought me home some fresh cranberries and I figured those would be the perfect addition.

Sweet Potato PancakesWP_007393

makes 1 serving

  • 1/3 cup sweet potato/butternut squash casserole (I’m sure pumpkin would work, too)
  • 1/3 cup Bisquick
  • 2 Tbsp liquid egg substitute
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 packet Splenda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice
  • cranberries or pecans (optional)

Combine all ingredients well. Dollop onto a heated skillet sprayed with non stick cooking spray and cook until batter begins to bubble. Flip and cook through. Serve with some sugar free maple syrup.

WP_007395

I made these for dinner last night and then again this morning for breakfast and I’ve never seen someone clean a plate as quickly as my friend Brett did! Record timing!

I really enjoyed the rich flavor of the batter, and how the tart cranberries were matched by the sweet syrup.

I always love re-purposing foods and creating something new! Its been so long since I’ve posted, but boy does it feel good to write to you guys again!

Leave a Reply

