Awaiting April

Yes, I honestly can not wait until April! I am craving warm running weather! I’m pretty darn tired of these blizzards whirling into the area every few days! But besides the month of April, Barry’s sister, Katie, is also awaiting a little April. Zak and Katie have decided to name their future baby girl April! I love it!

With the help of her mom, mother-in-law, and best friend, I attended a lovely surprise baby shower at the mother-in-law’s house. Ever since I found out about Katie’s pregnancy, I’ve been shopping for baby things! I have a weakness for baby things!

While her mom and mother-in-law handled the food and snacks, I worked on a few surprises of my own. Katie had been posting all these things that she wanted for the baby. Needless to say, I gave in! The first thing I tracked down was a onsie that said “Lock Up Your Sons, My Daddy Has Guns.” I found it in both long and short sleeved. And, of course, being the Eagle’s fans that we are, I had to get her Eagle’s onsies! Oh, and LOTS of diapers!

WP_005309 WP_005312

WP_005314 WP_005315

I was really pleased with her reactions to the gifts! One of my favorite reactions of the day was to the cupcake cake I made her. She went me a Pintrest link, knowing I love to bake, and mention how much she would love it with butterflies! Well, there ya go! The cupcakes were a huge hit and I could not have asked for a better reaction from Katie!

????????WP_005336 WP_005302

Katie’s mother-in-law, also got a cake! Very cute!

WP_005301

I was introduced to an odd combination of cream cheese spread. I have never been a particular fan of any type of olive but Barry’s mom combined cream cheese and chopped green olives and wow! I couldn’t get enough of the stuff! In fact, I ran to the store to get fat free cream cheese so I could make my own! For every 1/4 cup of cream cheese, I chopped 10 green olives! Yum!

WP_005320 WP_005321

Some highlights of April and Katie’s day were the baby bath with jet stream! And the boppie that vibrates!

By far, the best part of the day was Nanny! One of Katie’s aunts drove Nanny down to the party. Nanny is Katie’s most favorite person in the entire world! Katie had a surprise for Nanny, too! One of Katie’s friend’s mother is a knitter/crocheter and made baby April a bunch of owl hats. So that Nanny and April had something to share, Katie had one made for Nanny since she began chemo again.

WP_005305 WP_005322 WP_005324

 

Congrats, Zak and Katie! I can’t wait to meet Baby April!

WP_005317 WP_005338

Leave a Reply

