The Scrub Life

We’re breaking records, here, in Wilmington! My friend, Brian, posted this as his FB status that describes the way the weather has been the last week:

brian

Between the snow, rain, and wind, I had to drive home through the thickest fog I’ve ever driven through! Visibility was about 10 feet! Driving home from work has been pretty dangerous!  The night before, it had snowed its but off and I drove 15mph all the way home!

WP_005157

But today was most extreme of them all! The threat driving home this morning was black ice, but the temperature was even more dangerous. When I left work this morning, I left with two jackets on, two hoods, gloves, a scarf, and sweatpants over my scrub bottoms. Why? Because it was 3 F! Yes, THREE DEGREES!!! And that was just the air temperature! The wind chill? Oh, just -17 F!

WP_005237

“Its Brisk, Baby!”

Everyone always says how lucky nurses are to wear such a comfortable uniform. Its true, its pretty comfy. But the downside is that there is nothing to them! The wind goes right through the fabric and straight to your bones! Brrrrrr! Usually, when its cold out, I’ll wear tights under my scrubs, but sweatpants are thicker. Depending on the weather tonight, I might triple layer with tights, scrubs, and sweatpants! Even though the roads are slick, at least the drive to work is a scenic one…

WP_005238 WP_005239

I’ve been bundled up, even in the house! Dad thinks its hilarious that I sleep with my pom pom hat on!

Lucky for me, I’ve been whipping up lots of warm goodies in the kitchen! Oh, and the forecast tomorrow? -14 F! Just great!

WP_005224On the plus side, I’ve been keeping warm with yummy foods! I’ve been hanging out at dads place alot and my eating has been great! I think its because I’m having what are called “meaningful meals.” When you begin refeeding after an eating disorder, they say to have “meaningful meals.” This means to eat meals consciously, carefully, and with meaningful people. For about 2 weeks now, I’ve eaten three meals a day and snacks!

What an accomplishment! Work is going well and I’m even eating meat,again! I eat some sort of protein at least once a day! This is a huge breakthrough for me! For instance, I organized the freezer and found two 10 oz pork loins. Which I used immediately! One night, I marinated the loin in hot pepper jelly, cooked the loin and used the juices, along with teriyaki sauce and red pepper flakes to make a stir-fry! The following night, with a jar of roasted red peppers in the fridge, and a sale of frozen veggies at the store, I was still craving pork! I seasoned the last pork loin with Italian WP_005231seasoning and thyme, and while steaming it, browned the outside of the loin. Once cooked through, I removed the loin and let it rest. I added a box of chopped frozen spinach, thinly sliced onion, garlic, seasoning, and sliced roasted reds to the pan. I thinly sliced the resting loin and I ate my meal out of bowl, and made a tasty porchetta sandwich with melted light provolone for pops! YUM!

Leave a Reply

