Hot &Sour

Its always the nights you want to sleep that you just can’t! Last night, I woke up at 1am and couldn’t get back to sleep until close to 4am, only to have my alarm go off at 6am! Yay!

I had a pretty well-thought out day. Mom threw me for a loop and crawled in my bed and began to tickle me until I got up. She was in rare form, this morning, but it brought me back to when I was in grade school and she would get me up in the mornings. She started my day off with laughs and smiles, the best way to begin a Friday morning!

WP_004383After a shower and a cup of hot Blueberry Green tea, I went to Fresh Thymes. They are a local corner shop that serves gluten free, locally grown, vegan, etc… They are pretty unique in Wilmington! One of a kind. Anyway, I always want to go on Friday mornings, but I never can. I was super excited that I was up so early and headed over to grab the Friday morning specialty of Banana Fosters coffee! Oh goodness! It was utterly spectacular! No wonder they have it every Friday1378269_10153413357570228_1775508397_n

Following my pit-stop, I headed off to a job interview… Even though it was cold this morning (as in 30-something degrees) I just love Fall fashion, scents, and tastes. Boots, scarves, and beanies is my Fall and Winter motto, which was exactly what I rocked, today. Having that amazing coffee, made it my Friday morning even better!

In my opinion, the interview went excellently! Bonus: it was only 7 miles away from two of my favorite stores, so of course I headed over The Fresh Market after my interview! I heard about Peanut Butter cup coffee and was disappointed when they didn’t have it. Oh well, there are plenty other specialties to grab. From the coffee bean bins I snagged Caramel Macchiato, Tiramisu, Amaretto Almond, and Molten Chocolate coffee beans. I can not wait to try these tomorrow morning!

WP_004404WP_004394

I also grabbed a few treats for Barry, like the white chocolate CRACK, I mean Crunch, and Blueberry yogurt covered pretzels. When I saw a glass bottle with grape soda, I knew he would love that, too! I snagged a few chocolate covered pretzel balls while I was there for Barry, dad, and myself to try. These were bacon and while chocolate covered pretzel balls. None of us really knew what to think of them… Interesting…

WP_004405 (1)I decided to, also, grab Meaghen a few “I miss you” treats. I grabbed a little bag of the white chocolate crunch and a container of pumpkin spice almonds! I know she’ll love it!

By this time, my belly was telling me it was time to eat. I met up with Barry and we headed over to SaladWorks. I am always amazed at filling these salads are! Today was Spring mix, white beans, roasted red peppers, corn bean blend, onions, and tomatoes, with Fat Free Balsamic Vinaigrette. Yummers! The boyfriend got the Buffalo Chicken salad. He’s a sucker for buffalo chicken!

WP_004391

We walked around the mall for a few hours and by the time I got home, I could not believe how late it was! A while back, I found a carton of a new broth by Swanson and picked it up. To warm dad and I up, I made a delicious soup for a chilly night!

Short Cut Hot & Sour Soup

makes 6 cups

  • 1 cup cold waterWP_004400
  • 1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp rice vinegar
  • 2 1/2 tsp sirracha
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1/4 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 packet Splenda
  • 3 oz boneless pork chop, thinly sliced (about 1/4 in strips)
  • 2 cups mushrooms, various sizes, sliced and chopped
  • 1/2 14oz block firm tofu, diced
  • 1 box Swanson’s Chinese Hot & Sour flavor infused broth
  • 1 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/3 cup, sliced bambooo shoots, packed, juliened
  • 1/2 cup water chestnuts, sliced
  • 1/4 cup scallion, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup liquid egg substitute

Whisk 1 cup water with vinegar, sirracha, sesame oil, soy sauce, and Splenda. Add the sliced pork to the marinade and allow to soak while preparing the remaining ingredients. Now is a good time to slice the bamboo shoots into twos and threes (so they are in thin strips) and slice and cube the mushrooms. Spray a 2 qt pot with non stick stray and cook the pork slices over medium heat. Set the marinade aside. When the pork is not longer pink, add the mushrooms and tofu. Cover and simmer on low for 3 minutes, until the mushrooms begin to soften.

WP_004396 WP_004398

Add the boxed, pre-made broth to the pot and bring to a boil. Whisk the cornstarch into the first marinade (the one the pork was in). Once boiling, add the bamboo and water chestnuts. Bring to another boil, and stir in cornstarch mix. Bring the soup to one last boil and add the scallions and liquid egg substitute.

WP_004399

WP_004403Turn off heat and serve. You can add more sirracha and vinegar to play with the hot and sour aspects of the soup.

Dad loved it! “Oh my God!” What? “Oh my God!” Dad, whats wrong?!? “That soup is so good!”

He scared me! I thought something was wrong! At least he liked!

One thought on “Hot &Sour

  1. Pingback: Tofutti! | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

