The Bucket List

Today was all about thrills. After I saw the movie “The Bucket List,” like most people, I immediately started thinking of things I want to do before my time comes. Some items are extravagant, others are simple. Some cost a lot, others are free. Some I have completed, others still require time.

The more I thought about this list, the more lists I started forming. Now I have a notebook full of lists: Restaurants to Eat At, Books to Read, States to Visit, Countries to Visit… My list of lists is endless and ever-growing!

I wanted to sing the National Anthem at a Blue Rocks game (Wilmington’s minor league baseball team). I did that a little out of high school.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I graduated college! I did that this past May!

942163_4476669649637_1279075473_n

I wanted to fly in a plane. Three years ago, not only did I take my first flight, but I flew across the country to Seattle, WA for a Phi Theta Kappa Convention!

226899_10150597468010228_4979608_n

Today, I not only was in a plane, but I jumped out of it! That’s right!  I crossed “skydiving” off my Bucket List. I could not believe I went through with it! Barry did it, too! I couldn’t believe it! My mom started crying as we boarded the plane. It was freezing! Oddly enough, I wasn’t thinking “Oh my gosh! Am I crazy? I can’t wait to get back on land.” I was thinking, “Oh my gosh its freaking freezing up here! I can’t wait to get in the car to warm up!” Hahah! Looking back on it, I don’t think I was ever scared, just full of excitement and adrenaline!

DSCN0524After an hour drive to Free Fall Adventures, endless initially of paperwork and saying that we won’t sue, we were briefed by an instructor with an incredibly thick New Zealand accent. Next, we met the instructors we would be flying with. This is Brian… He reminds me a Deeks (Eric Christian Olsen) from NCIS:LA… He took great care of me! Plus, he was super attractive! Good a girl ask for more? Haha!

WP_004352

After about a 15 minute accent into the sky, we shuffled our way to the door of the plane and out we went. There was no turning back! The view still plays back in my head like a movie. It was so surreal! We descended 2 1/2 miles to the ground. The wind whipping at my face. At one point, after we first jumped, I opened my mouth to “woo hoo” and I don’t actually know if anything came out! “Oh my gosh! I’m falling! WP_004350I’m flying! Lord, keep us safe!” When we reached a certain altitude, Brian pulled the cord and the parachute deployed. After a brief delay and upward tug, we were floating.

It was so peaceful and tranquil. I could see Atlantic City on one side and Philadelphia on the other. Brian and I had a normal conversation on our way down. He even asked if I wanted to to steer the chute. “Nope! I’m fine! Thanks, though!”

When we landed, I kind of messed things up and fell to my knees like a dork, but at least I didn’t face-plant! Once we were unhooked from each other, I had to give him a hug! Then, I thanked God for a safe landing! I reunited with Barry, and then with my tearful mom, who would not let go of me!

Here’s the video of us coming in for a landing. Barry’s chute is the one that looks like a German flag. His instructor was from Germany and before we boarded the plan gave Barry the best advice:

Range (the instructor):Is this your first jump?

Barry: Yeah.

Range: Can I give you some advice? Don’t F*** this up.

We started laughing our butts off! Brian and I are the last pair to land.

Other things still on my list are marriage, children, and Master’s degree.

What’s on your Bucket List?

Following our adrenaline rush, we met up with dad for a “We’re Alive” dinner at my favorite Mexican restaurant, El Jefe. I greeted dad with a chest bump and a big hug! We sat down to chorizo con queso and 3 orders of cebollitas (my favorite). The four of us, then, dug into El Molcajete Estilo, AKA “El Jefe! This is the molten rock bowl filled with a hot reed sauce, chicken breast, steak, queso fesco, cebollitas, and jalepenos (we asked for extra), served with a side of salad, rice, and refried beans, along with four warm tortillas.

WP_004357 WP_004358 WP_004359

MMMMM! I love Mexican food!

It was a great day! Currently, I’m catching up on blogging, uploading videos and photos, sending resumes, and chowing on some celery!

Oh yeah, on our way to New Jersey, we drove past the Weinermobile!!!

????????????

Hope that made you smile as much as it did me!

2 thoughts on “The Bucket List

  1. Pingback: 8 Fears | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

