Tommy Bundo Cooks: One-Pan Bachelor Meal

Today, Frank surprised me with changing out my broken alternator and Sasha Fierce is running like a champ! By the way, Sasha Fierce is my car…

Following the return of my core part, and receiving that beautiful refund, I headed home to whip up breakfast. I made Frank and Barry french toast, while I whipped up a shake bowl:

  • WP_004300cantaloupe
  • 1 Tbsp SF fat free Banana Cream pudding mix
  • 1 Tbsp SF Blueberry syrup
  • xanthum and guar (optional)

So refreshing and tasty, but I desperately needed a mug of something warm to defrost my satisfied body.

Today’s recipe is brought to you my Tommy Bundo, AKA my pops!

My girlfriend, Maggie, loves this recipe, as do I. What I love about it, is that it has just the right amount of kick! Its also a great meal for those single guys! It uses only one pan and takes less than an hour. Take notes, bachelors. Use this recipe to impress the ladies!

Kicken Cacciatore

serves about 8

  • 1 1/2 lb chicken breast
  • 2 /14 tsp black pepper???????!
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1 Tbsp EVOO
  • 1 3/4 cup onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 cups bell pepper, roughly chopped
  • 1 Tbsp garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1/4 to 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1 6.5 oz can mushroom slices and pieces, drained
  • 3 cup canned crushed tomatoes and basil

Fillet the chicken breast (about 9 fillets, or so). Season both sides with the black pepper and thyme. In a large skillet, heat the EVOO over medium-high heat. Add the chicken fillets to the pan. Cook both sides, just until there is no visible pink. Then remove the chicken from the pan and set aside. Add the onion, bell pepper, and garlic to the skillet, reduce the heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer for about 5 minutes, or until the onions and peppers soften. Stir in the Italian seasoning, basil, flakes, and onion powder. Lay the cooked chicken over the vegetables, along with any juices from the sitting chicken left on the plate. Cover the chicken with mushrooms, followed by the seasoned tomatoes. Cover and simmer on low for 15-20 minutes, occasionally spooning the liquid over the chicken. Remove the lid and let sit for 5 minutes, over lowest heat, then serve.

WP_004301 ???????????????????????

Chicken Cacciatore is served many ways. My dad recalls my Nonna making a small side of mashed potatoes. Dad ate his with spaghetti. You can also eat it, as is. I like it like that of with a side of steamed vegetables! We paired this delicious meal with a crisp and refreshing romaine salad and a glass of red blessington wine from a local winery.

WP_004308To seal the deal, I pulled out 2 Andes mints after dinner, like they do at Olive Garden. Haha.

Dad and I have spent the rest of the night watching TV, laughing, and snacking on various crackers. They aren’t kidding when they say “Hot” salsa!

Leave a Reply

