Birthday Workday

Monday

Today was an early day that began with cookies! Tomorrow is National Homemade Cookie Day and I wanted to celebrate both that and my birthday with cookies!

With my love of pink, I knew I would incorporate the color somewhere! And, hey, lets throw some fruit (maraschino cherries) in there, too !

My mom recommended using a shortbread cookie base to make Pretty in Pink cookies. I used a whole wheat shortbread recipe I found, but wasn’t quite a fan of the results, although Frank liked them and they tasted better the longer they sat. I think I know what to do better next time, though, to make these white chocolate and cherry pinwheels perfect.

WP_004060 WP_004061 WP_004065 WP_004071 WP_004072 WP_004075

I got kind of manic and felt the need to make a different cookie. I remembered that I had grabbed an emergency box of Pillsbury Pink Lemonade cookie mix when it was on the discount rack. I could make this pink thing work, still! I mixed the entire box with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1/4 cup liquid egg substitute, and a splash of water.

WP_004076 WP_004077 WP_004078

Utilizing my cookie scoop (I love this thing), I placed dollops of half scoops on parchment paper and baked them. To finish the deal, I finely chopped 2 Tbsp of white chocolate chips and melted them in the microwave, along with about 2 tsp of SF raspberry syrup, stirring every 20 seconds or so until the chocolate and raspberry were one. I, then, used a basting brush and coated the top of the cooling cookies and quickly followed up with a sprinkle of pink sugar crystals. Yum!

To hold me over until my nap, Frank inspired me with his cream of wheat. It sounds odd (but I’m odd), but I like warmed cereal. I poured a bowl of Kashi Go Lean, which really doesn’t have a flavor, in a bowl with a tablespoon of strawberry sugar free preserves and half a packet of Splenda. After microwaving the bowl, I enjoyed this warm and filling oatmeal/cream of wheat wannabe. Just what I needed.

By the time this manic cookie craze was over, it was almost 2pm and I had not slept for my shift! Okay, go to sleep. I’m not sure if I actually fell asleep, or if I just entered into LaLa Land, before receiving a phone call with the hospital’s number on it. Oh man, did I get cancelled for tonight?

Actually, it was the call I have been waiting for and stressing over. I have an interview for a nursing position on my unit! I am praying that I get this position. This unit, these kids, this hospital, this team… there isn’t another place I could imagine working! After a few phone calls, and  lots of prayers and deep breaths I was able to get back to sleep, briefly. Next thing I knew, my alarm was going off and I felt behind.

WP_004081 WP_004082

I took a quick shower, grabbed a shake, coffee, and green tea, grabbed my food for dinner, plated cookies for work, and darted out the door. I didn’t know if I would make it! I had so much to carry! Needless to say, I had to run back in the house because I forgot part of my meal, and my Bubba Keg of coffee tipped over in my bag and when I got to work, I dabbed my cucumber in the hopes of salvaging them from the coffee that had spilled (they were salvaged, by the way).

Tuesday

Things went much smoother when I got to work. I was pleased to arrive at work to found out I was on the floor for the first 8 of my 12 hours. I was working with some of my favorite nurses, which always makes the night better!

Around 2am, we sat down for food. I kept it simple, but, boy, was it good! I had eaten my cucumber earlier in the evening, and no sat down to a Campbell’s Chicken and Stars Soup-on-the-Go. Rather than grabbing saltines, I steamed broccoli slaw and thats the way I’m going from now on! I couldn’t have asked for a crisper, satisfying meal this morning. We sat around nibbling on Tostitos and salsa, as well as the cookie platter and a pumpkin roll. I was in control of my eating! It was great!

WP_004084 WP_004083

At 0300, I relieved the other Aide in the 1:1 and spent the remainder of my shift there. I took advantage of this opportunity and completed some mandatory training for work! I’, pretty stoked about that because I finished most of it and can probably knock out the rest on my next night shift.

The more I work, the more I love my unit and the people I work with, the more questions I ask, the more I start thinking like a nurse, and the more I can’t imagine working anywhere else! Great way to bring in my birthday!

Hopefully I can get some sleep to refresh myself for a family dinner tonight! Recipes to come!

Leave a Reply

