Mean and Green

I spent the remainder of last night awake! I didn’t fall asleep until 130am or so. Oh well! At least I came up with delicious ideas for this week’s meals. It began this morning with a change of pace from my usual shake. It was also a good morning, as I was able to sense hunger, again!

I’ve been craving quinoa for weeks now, but with the madness going on in my head, I couldn’t get myself to eat it. Alas, I microwaved Amy’s Light & Lean Quinoa & Black Beans bowl. Meanwhile, I whipped up some egg whites, for myself, and a sunny-side up, for Frank! Frank and I really enjoyed this. We are both huge fans of black beans! Plus, we got a boost of protein and fiber bright and early to start our week! Yum!

WP_003802 WP_003804

WP_003806I’ve planned today to see green! Not as in envy, but as in E-A-G-L-E-S, Eagles!!!! Eagles/ Redskins game baby! Dad and I are all about the green, but mom won a bet at work like 20 years ago on a Skins game, and has been a fan ever since. Silly woman!

To get on my game face, I whipped out my Eagles jersey to rock for a day of errands.

After unpacking the groceries, I make another batch of Bundo Broccoli Salad, since the first batch went so quickly neither Frank nor Barry got a taste.

WP_003810

Afterwards, I was feeling tired but couldn’t sense if it was due to a lack of eating. After all, it was 2pm and I ate my filling breakfast around 10am. I decided to whip up a super green shake! Its one of my favorites!

Pistachio Ice Cream Shake:

  • WP_0038121 Tbsp sugar free fat free Pistachio pudding mix
  • 1 to 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • lots of spinach!
  • 1/8 to 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • water
  •  ice
  • shelled, unsalted pistachios (optional)
  • xanthum and/or guar gum (optional)

After my last few shake bowls, I’ve rediscovered my love for ground flax and chia seeds, so to play off the nuttiness of the pistachios I added both to today’s bowl!

This held me over for hours! I attempted a nap before Zumba, and, sadly, it just didn’t happen. When I got up after an hour, my mom took one look at me and said, “You look tired. I don’t think you should go to Zumba.” I felt guilty not going, since I didn’t go last week, but I truly was tired. I then spent the next few hours working on a new recipe for you!

If at first you don’t succeed, try and try, again. Although, I wasn’t hungry, mom was and we kicked off our first Monday Night Football of the the 2013-2014 season!

????????

I prepared a plate of crudites, featuring scallions, sugar snap peas, green beans, celery, and baby carrots. I served it with Honey Mustard, blue cheese dressing, and PB. We split one of my favorite personalized pizzas, VitaPizza Cheese and Tomato. Mom and  I also split a strawberry daquari, topped with a dollop of fat free Cool Whip.

WP_003817 WP_003818 WP_003828

I was not hungry, tonight, but had tons of nervous energy and filled up on veggies. No harm in that…

After the Eagles started kicking some serious butt, mom went into a sore mood and said, “That’s it. I’m going to bed.” I, now, find myself, here, with you, reminiscing and working on yet another new recipe for you.

Sweet Green Dreams!

One thought on “Mean and Green

  1. Pingback: Pistachios. | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

