The Hole and The Rope Analogy

I woke up in much better spirits, today. In fact, I woke up being able to tell I was hungry.

The Analogy of the Hole and the Rope

Last night, I wanted to break up with Barry. I wanted to isolate myself from the world. I felt out of control. One scenario replayed in my head for hours:

I’m just going to get sicker and sicker until I can’t work anymore… and then my manager will see me get sicker and skinnier and I won’t get hired as a nurse and I’m going to loose my job… and I’m just going to get weaker and weaker until I die.

That what I was preparing for… my death.

Isn’t that morbid?

I felt like I was in a 6 foot deep hole. By the end of the night, I had Barry, my parents, my sponsor… all holding onto the other end of the rope that they had been dangling in my face for the past few  hours. I finally grabbed the rope and held on for dear life. They pulled me out… they helped save me before I could pile more dirt on top of me.

Getting back on the wagon

I began with a shake. I just threw a bunch of mixed fruit, containing bananas, berries, and apples, and combined it with chocolate shake mix. To make it even more appealing, I topped it with some chia seeds and continued the berry theme with a blueberry coffee.

WP_003796

My mom wanted to spend the day together and I had no problems accepting. I figure I’d catch her in a good mood and ask if I could cook dinner for us tonight. She accepted my proposition. Okay, so far, its a good day.

WP_003797She took me to pick up my car from the mechanic and we headed off to Walmart. I just adore being surrounded by pumpkin! Its the best part of this time of year! I found these babies and had to turn away! Oh man!

V__8880On the bright side, I also came across this: Edy’s Slow Churned Pumpkin Patch! Yes! Its out! Its only 90 calories a serving! I may have licked the lid on the way out the door of the store… I was so impressed with the flavor, I stopped by dads so he could try it! I counted down the time until Barry would stop by before work so we could share this!

In the mean time, I pulled out a small piece of tilapia from the freezer and changed moms mind about making homemade fish sandwiches. Eat your heart out McD! (Although, I will admit that the Arby’s Fish Sandwich is shatteringly delicious!

Fish Sandwich

WP_003799makes 1 sandwich

  • 1 3oz tilapia filet
  • parlsey, black pepper, granulated garlic, to taste
  • 1 leaf romaine
  • 1/2 slice fat free cheese, of your choice
  • 1 Tbsp light mayo
  • 1/2 Tbsp sweet relish
  • 1 sandwich flat

Spray a small skillet with non-stick spray and lay tilapia filet down. Sprinkle with spices and cook on medium heat for 2-3 minutes. Lift filet with spatula, respray the pan, and flip the fish. Lay the cheese on top the hot side of the fish. Leave the fish in the pan and turn off the heat after 1 minute or so. In a small bowl, combine mayo and relish, and spread on sandwich flat.

WP_003800

Simple and easy. Mom called it “Spectacular.” We split the sandwich and the last of the Bundo Broccoli Salad.  We enjoyed out dinners and each others company while watching “The Great Escape,” one of our favorite movies! I winning combination!

Barry arrived just in time for my dinner to be digested and a hankering for Pumpkin Patch was creeping up. I topped our bowls with chopped pecans. Mouth watering! To complete our previous experience with pumpkin ice cream, I broke some pretzel sticks to simulate the pretzel cone.

WP_003801

To finish off the night, a little house work and and a refreshing cucumber to snack on!

On a side note, I found this picture on Friday, still basking in the wonder that is my 16-year-old pup. Its a 3-month-old Beauty and her brother!

WP_003787

Leave a Reply

