A Night of Treats

I’ve said it before, but healthy living is soooo much easier when you have some one to do it with you! I always read about Julie and Ryan going to the gym together and running marathons. They are so supportive of each others fitness goals and its something I long to have in my relationship with Barry.

Staying healthy… together.

?????????????????????!

Barry and I began our morning with our first workout together! Coincidentally, I wore my Air Force shirt and he, his Army.  I was seriously put to shame when I saw how much quicker he was than I! We set small checkpoints to sprint to in between walking. As we ran to one checkpoint, I thought I was doing great and keeping pace. That is, until a certain someone sped past me… As I began to fade out, the Army Sergeant in Barry came out. “Push it! Finish strong! Push it!” Having that encouragement, and couples competition is so motivational!

We made it to our destination, went to the grocery store, and walked home. All together, we finished about 2.5 miles. I’m proud of that for our first outing together, but my physical conditioning pales compared to Barry’s.

We got home, brewed some coffee, shared a banana, and hit the road for some more errands. While out, we stopped by Subway for a quick lunch before my doctors appointment. Barry got a super yummy hoagie, but without much of an appetite, but knowing I needed to give my body nourishment, I ate an apple pack.

The doctors appointment went better than expected. (I’ll fill you in more in an upcoming post.) After an afternoon of errands, we headed back home for a snack and shower. Soon enough, I didn’t know where the afternoon went! “Are you getting hungry?” Barry asked. Oh man, its 5 o’clock, already!

WP_003752

Tonight, was a real treat, as Barry wanted to cook me dinner! He made jalapeno chicken alfredo! It was delicious! If I had another bag of shirataki noodles, I would have gone back for seconds! While Barry whipped up dinner, I set the table with a cucumber salad and garlic toast.

This treat was followed by another treat: a trip to Woodside Creamery! September is the start of their long awaited fall flavors. Barry and I could not wait to try the Pumpkin Ice Cream, but when we found out they had Pumpkin Pecan, there was no stopping us from ordering it on a salted pretzel cone!

WP_003754

Oh. My. Goodness!

I’ve never had ice cream blow my mind before. Barry and I was in utter utopia. It was like someone whirled a pumpkin pie into ice cream and touched it with a dash of “Woah Baby!”

One thought on “A Night of Treats

  1. Pingback: The Hole and The Rope Analogy | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

