MMMM Mallows

I was nervous that the universe did not want me to sleep, today. Dad rand the door bell and then called me at like 9 am. “Open the door.” You have a key! I fell back asleep. Twenty minutes later, my phone rang. Its mom. I had sent her a picture of the cake from work last night, and she started asking me questions and saying how sweet it was that the girls celebrated our accomplishments. Thats what you called me for? I’m sleeping, woman! I was beginning to think this whole sleep thing wasn’t going to happen.

I threw the covers over my head and that was that. I was out until my alarm went off around 1230. Barry and I both had doctors appointments so we went together. I was a bit nervous to get weighed. Here was the verdict. My last appointment was Aug 9th and I weighed 134.5 lbs. Three weeks later, I weigh 128 lb. I’m not sure how accurate that is, but thats as low as I want to get.

Barry and I ran a few errands and I decided to stay in tonight so mom and I could hang out. When I called her to ask about dinner, her response was, “Don’t cook for me. I’m not hungry.” I became furious. What kind of example is she setting for me? She wants to lose weight and she doesn’t understand that not eating is not the way to do it. The alternative occurrence is that I cook dinner and mom brings home a hoagie. I would have loved a hoagie, thanks for asking, but now I can’t because I already ate. And now I’m in a funk because I feel like I’m depriving myself. It sounds so dumb, but its how my brain operates. I told her I wanted to talk, tonight.

She left work at 4pm and did not come home until close to 8. She wouldn’t answer my texts or voicemails. I was so hurt. This isn’t the first time I’ve broken plans with Barry only to be be stood up by my mom. She finally arrived home and all hell broke loose. With the history of my moms actions and addiction, her recent behavior has become nerve-wracking and worrisome. Things did not got as planned tonight.

Backing up a bit…

I couldn’t quite place what I wanted to eat for dinner, I just knew I wanted it warm. After some investigating, I shopped up the last bit of cabbage, that I new was going south soon. Dad loves my cabbage hash, which was the inspiration for my dinner. After making golumpki, a polish dish, I had the smaller tougher leaves of cabbage let. I choked them down, threw some spices and hot Italian sausage in a pan and voila! Cabbage hash has been a Bundo favorite!

Sweet and Spice Cabbage Hash

WP_003722serves 1

  • 1 link chicken sausage
  • 1 1/2 cups cabbage, any type, chopped, packed
  • 2 Tbsp chopped onion
  • 2 Tbsp chopped bell pepper
  • 2 1/2 tsp Sweet Asian Chili sauce
  • 2 tsp chili garlic sauce
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup water
  • a few baby carrots
  • a handful snow peas

Slice a link of chicken sausage lengthwise. Slice those halve in half, lengthwise. Chop the sausage strips and combine in a skillet with chopped cabbage over medium heat and cover for 5 minutes. Add the chopped onion, pepper, sauces, chili powder and 1/3 cup of water. Toss and recover for 4 minutes. Add additional water, as needed. Lastly, add carrots and snows peas, toss mix, reduce heat to  medium-low and recover for a final 2 minutes.

Serve up and enjoy.

WP_003720 WP_003721

I almost made some quinoa too go with it but I didn’t think I’d be that hungry, but its a great idea to add some cooked quinoa the last few minutes of so of cooking to absorb some sauce flavors.

I really enjoyed the sweet and subtle spice, with the crunch from the carrot and peas. Plus, it was really filling.

While still waiting for mom to get home, I took advantage of National Toasted Marshmallow Day. In honor if this, lets have a childhood flashback to the best smores instructions ever!

I knew I had a tacky bag of mini marshmallows, so I scooped a dessert spoon with some, and roasted it over the open flame of the gas stove. I like mine burnt! (see the fireball of sugar, below) I smeared the gooey glob on a reduced fat graham and topped it with a drizzle of sugar free chocolate syrup for a make shift smores. MMM theres nothing like a smores!

WP_003723 WP_003724

WP_003726WP_003727After the dilemma with my mom, I was drained and ready to relax. I made a mug of diet hot chocolate, spiked with cinnamon, vanilla, and a scoop of Arctic Zero Chocolate PB, and am currently engaging in the blog-esphere.

 

Leave a Reply

