My Mug Overfloweth

I was greeted with some disappointment, this morning. As Frank and I headed out for our bike ride, I discovered a flat tire! My bike ride was cancelled for today, but luckily I was hungry.

In honor of National Banana Lover Day, I whipped up a Banana Creme Pie Shake Bowl, with a handful of spinach.

Banana Creme Pie BowlWP_003699

  • 1/2 to 1 frozen banana
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein
  • 1 to 1 1/2 Tbsp sugar free fat free Banana Creme Pie pudding mix
  • 1/4 tsp xanthum (optional)

I enjoyed this bowl while sitting on the porch and chatting with Frank! It was a beautiful morning with the sun shining and a light breeze.

For some reason, despite my cup of coffee, I could not wake up today. I tried keeping busy until Barry came over on his lunch brake. I saved him some of the Chicken Cheesesteak Pizza from last night’s dinner. It was his first experience with a cauliflower crust and he liked it. I think each time I make the crust, I get better and better at it.

WP_003700As noon approached, the sun began to hide and a mildly grumbling tummy came out. Frank made a tuna sandwich for himself and I finally gave into my nutella desire with a slice of oatmeal toast and Be Well Nutella. It hit the spot and was just enough to satisfy my hunger.

The entire day was spent in an odd funk. I just could not get with the program. Frank and I watched movies all day! I was quite lazy, but maybe my body just needed that.

Dad came over for dinner before I headed to Barry’s. I had picked up cebollitas at the farmers market and had been itching to make them. They are typically made on a grill coated in salt and olive oil. Every time dad and I go to a Mexican restaurant, we go to town on these babies, and we always dip them in the chorizo con queso! This was my first time making the cebollitas and they could not have turned out any better!

Cebollitas (Spring Onions)WP_003701

  • 8 cebollitas
  • 1 lime
  • 1/2 tsp, divided, plus 1/8 tsp seasoned salt

Heat a cast iron grill pan, or skillet if you do not have a grill pan, on medium to medium high heat. While the pan is heating up, snipthe top stems of the onions down until there is about 2-3 inches from the bulb. Spray the pan with non stick cooking spray and lay the onions down. Sprinkle1/4 tsp of seasoned salt over the onions, followed by squeezing half a lime over top. Quickly cover the onions with a lid. After 5 minutes, turn the onions to the other side,sprinkle the remaining 1/4 tsp salt and squeeze the other half of the lime. Recover and cook for an additional 5 minutes. Removed the lid and toss the onions every 3 minutes or so for an additional 10 minutes. On the last toss, sprinkle the last 1/8 tsp of seasoning salt. Serve them up!

WP_003702 WP_003703

Dad and I ate our with a bowl of soup! It was one we had never had before by Campbell s, but it is definitive one we will be getting again! Campbell’s Chunky Kickin’ Buffalo Style Chicken Soup was creamy, with a kick of buffalo sauce and blue cheese flavors! MMMM! And I dipped my cebollitas in there and the creamy consistency worked great as a substitution for the chorizo con queso! The soup even had carrots, tomatoes, celery and potato like the classic home-style chicken soup.

Dad wanted a grilled cheese on the side. I’ll tell ya, just the soup and 4 cebollitas kept me full for the rest of the night!

I met up with Barry, still feeling in a haze, but being with him and getting out of the house helped perk me up. His house was bareso we headed off to the grocery store, as opposed to my usual Tuesday night Zumba routine. We are spending the rest of the night in movie mode.

3 thoughts on “My Mug Overfloweth

  1. Pingback: Fiesta with a Naked Face | Be Well Bundo

  2. Pingback: Simplicity | Be Well Bundo

  3. Pingback: The Bucket List | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

