Tooty Fruity and Hydrated

WP_003587I don’t know why, but on days that I have shakes, I always feel well hydrated!

I began this morning with a bit of refrain running as I made my way to Church. I couldn’t wait to share the news with Fr. Hurley! I made great timing and wound up sitting outside for about 30 minutes, waiting for the Church doors to open.

Dad was right… never leave at home without cash. I didn’t anticipate the time. I could ave grabbed a coffee in the waiting time.

But good things come to those who wait. After mass, I walked over to the cemetery to talk to my grandparents. While I waited for dad to make it there, I sat on the curb. The landscaping guys drove over to see if I was okay. It was pretty awkward trying to explain that I WP_003591was talking with my grandparents and waiting for dad.

When I arrived home, the wilting spinach in the fridge was screaming to be used! Green shakes for Frank and I, today.

An Green Apple Cheesecake shake for Frank, and a Green Colada, for myself! Delicious!

Along with the shake, was a cup of coffee and a Vitamin Water. Like, I said, hydrated!

WP_003592

I want to take a brief second to explain the importance of staying hydrated. I’ll begin with a few examples:

When I was in prime eating disorder time, I was incredibly dehydrated. It affected my muscles, my reaction time… It got to the point that I had not had a bowel movement in 8 days, I was grey and weak, completely uncomfortable, and was in the ER for 10 hours with an open IV line. I was simply there for hydration. I was pumped with about 3 L before I was discharged. I would stand up, and have to sit back down. I would already be standing, and my vision would get so blurred and I would feel so light headed that I needed to lay on the floor. I really scared my dad a couple times. It was to the point that this was even happening at work.

Last week, at Zumba, I mentioned that a girl felt light headed and she was lying on the ground. Its because she was dehydrated, not only from sweating, but because she had donated blood about 6 hours before class.

Our bodies are naturally fueled by water. Think about it, up to 70% of our bodies are made of water! Scientist believe that water is the source of life, from which species are born. It acts as the medium for all our cellular processes to occur.

Water is needed to help digest, rid your body of waste, absorb nutrients from your food, send signals, lubricate joints, regulate temperature… Water is an important part of life.

For the weight loss followers, it helps to drink lot of water because it makes you feel full and you eat less. It also helps burn fat. The temp of the water really doesn’t matter. Any water is better than none. Thank goodness for those Dasani and Crystal Light squirty things because plan water can get really boring. I’ve drank so much fluid, today, I feel like my belly is a bag of water! Last night, after Zumba, I slammed so many bottles of water, I woke up every 3 hours to pee! Hahah!

Lunch was eaten all throughout the day. I actually finished off a huge fruit salad from 7 Eleven.

You guys are getting alot of TMIs, today, so let me make it up to you with a yummy comfort food recipe that everyone is your house will love!

Chicken Pot Pie

WP_003597serves 8

  • 8 ramekins, or 2 9 in pie plates

Filling:

  • 10oz chicken breast, diced to bite size pieces
  • 5 cups frozen mixed vegetable
  • 2 10.75oz cans 98% fat free Cream of Celery condensed soup
  • 2 tsp dried chopped onion
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground thyme
  • 1/4 tsp chicken/ poultry seasoning, optional

Crust:

WP_003594

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Meanwhile, over medium heat in a skillet sprayed with nonstick spray, cook the diced chicken breast with the seasonings. Toss until all the chicken is just cooked and none have stuck to each other. Transfer the warm chicken, with any juice produced into a large bowl with the condensed soup. Add the mixed vegetables and thoroughly combine. Spray dishes with a non stick cooking spray and divide the mixture amongst them. Place the dishes in a shallow pan (a roasting pan or pyrex should work) and fill the pan with a cup of water. Place the pan in the oven and bake for 15 minutes. Give the soupy mix a stir and return to bake for another 15 minutes.

WP_003593 WP_003595

Meanwhile, working in two batches, work on making the crust. Roll, with hands, 3 pieces of dough, and using a rolling pin roll out into 4 circles, or one large circle if using a pie pan.  Repeat this step with another ball of 3 crescents. 

Remove the pan from the oven, and carefully seal each ramekin, or pie pan, with your dough. Sprinkle the top of the crust with the garlic powder and return the dishes to the oven, still in the water pan, for 20 minutes, until the tops of golden brown and flaky.

Remove from the oven and dig in!

WP_003596 WP_003598

Each serving is around 240 calories. I was told this was one of the best dishes I’ve made! There was only once complaint! They wanted more!

Just like the pot pie, who doesn’t love pantless? Haha! I had to sign off with another TMI!

One thought on “Tooty Fruity and Hydrated

  1. Pingback: Name Change | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

