Bacon Bum

Following my rule, I got back on track at my next meal, meaning yesterday’s breakfast, lunch, and dinner. After the 11pm snack attack, last night, I really felt down. Since I was sitting all night at work, and only came home to eat and sleep, I tried talking to my dad, but I understand that he is tired of my anxiety and body issues. Heck, I’m tired of it! I need to stay focused and not let my emotions get the best of me. Plus, I need to listen to my body, my needs…

I was disappointed when I woke, this morning, because I was hoping to work out some of last night’s crazy at Church. I woke up at 11am since my crazy kept me up for a little while last night. I wanted to start the day right, so I told Nurse Sammy to get out of bed and begin the day with a healthy meal. I know you probably thought yesterday’s breakfast was odd, but this one might freak you out, too.

This morning, in an effort to eat my beets in a way not involving a salad, I chopped the slices, along with some onion, cooked them and threw them in some eggs with spinach, Canadian bacon, and crumbled feta. Half an English muffin added some bulk to breakfast. I guess that’s still pretty similar to a salad… Oh, and a coffee! Coffee was there, too!

WP_003572

Haha Egg-Beet-ers!! Get it?

I returned to work this afternoon, back in my one to one. I didn’t mind, but that coffee from a few hours before still had not kicked in. Even my pre-work shower couldn’t wake me up! I thought I was going to fall asleep in the shower. Luckily, the bit of caffeine in a Diet Cherry Coke helped keep me up.

With the unit having a one to one, I didn’t know what the night had in store for me, activity-wise. I packed dinner with caution in the form of low cal, low carb. I took the opportunity to try out my new Walden Farms Alfredo sauce, and served it over spinach, Fakin’ Bacon Tempeh, and tofu shirataki macaroni  noodles. I needed to season the sauce with garlic and oregano and parmesean cheese, but dinner turned out very well! I also had an apple sauce and graham crackers to keep me satisfied for the remained of the evening.

WP_003576

I was incredibly satisfied with dinner and returned to my patient. I always love when I can see a big change in my patients! Their disposition and appetite  had both improved since yesterday! The family seems to be in good spirits as well and we spent much of the shift laughing and exchanging funny stories.

Working 1:1

Most 1:1s that I offer to work are usually all 1:1s for the same reason. I especially like to sit with the pre-teen and teenage girls. I feel like it helps that I am closer to their age than most of the doctors and nurses, and that helps them open up to me. When I work evening or night shifts with 1:1s and I develop a report with the them, I like to leave them inspirational notes to wake up to. For my patient, tonight, I did the same. I ended the letter with a quote that I really like. It always makes me smile and I find myself repeating it:

“You is kind. You is smart. You is important.”

― Kathryn StockettThe Help

 

Leave a Reply

