Grinding Gears

After last nights slurpee, I started thinking. I laid in bed with a pen and paper and jotted down all these ideas on how to create a Key Lime pie. The gears were grinding, and I think I’ve almost got it! Now to decide how I want to attack it!

Once again, laying in bed did nothing but prolong sleep. I laid there for hours, tossing and turning. Just like last time, my tummy began to rumble incessantly around 4am. I cut a small Fuji apple in half to shut the growling up and made another mug of decaf green tea.

The other half of the apple was finished mid-morning with some Chocolate PB2 and a cup of Blueberry and Acai Green Tea. From the second I opened the tea envelope, you get smacked in the face with an immense blueberry fragrance!

WP_003325Today, Barry and I took dad to the range and then made a quick stop at Wholefoods. (I may have finished off my Arctic Zero). With this sudden fascination with Key Lime Pie, I wanted to try it. I needed to try it. I took advantage of the bakery at Wholefoods to see if there was a mini one to get, just so I could have an idea of what flavor and consistency I should be aiming for.

Barry came over after our escapades and helped me prepare for tonight’s dinner with a nicely set table. Ever since my little cousin’s Communion party, I’ve wanted to try my hand at Chicken Marsala. Running my errands on Saturday, I bought a ton of mushrooms (this family loves the shrooms), chicken breast, and finally found Marsala wine. I was always taught never to cook with a wine I wouldn’t drink, but from my understanding, no one actually drinks Marsala wine…

I based the following off the Hungry-Girl recipe:

Chicken Marsala

WP_003330serves 8

  • 3-4 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 3/4 of a pound)
  • salt and pepper
  • dried basil
  • 5 cups of fresh sliced mushrooms
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 3/4 cup Marsala wine
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 1/2  cups fat free low sodium chicken broth
  • 3 Tbsp Brummel and Brown yogurt spread
  • 1 Tbsp reduced fat grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp, plus 1/8 tsp black pepper

WP_003326Fillet the chicken breast. Place the fillet between two pieces of saran wrap, or in a plastic bag, and, using a meat tenderizer, release your frustration out on some chicken breast, flattening to about 1/2 inch thickness. Spray a large skillet with nonstick cooking spray and place the flattened chicken in the  skillet over medium heat. Season the top side of the chicken with salt, pepper, and dried basil, to your liking, Only cook one side of the breast, and remove from the skillet.

While chicken is cooking, melt the low calorie buttery spread in in the microwave. In a bowl, combine the melted butter, wine, and chicken broth. Whisk in cornstarch until completely dissolve, and set aside.

Re spray the skillet and add sliced mushrooms and garlic. Toss until the mushrooms sweat down. Move the mushrooms to one side of the pan, and place the chicken breast back into skillet, uncooked side down. Re-whisk the wine mixture and pour into skillet. Continue to cook all the chicken, and plate. Combine grated cheese, salt, and pepper. Top the platter with grater Parm blend and serve.

WP_003328 WP_003329

With amount of gravy this recipe makes, I stole some of it to steam the broccoli with and to re-moisten and steam some pilaf Frank threw together. Yay team effort. Dads contribution was “taste tester.”

WP_003331 WP_003332WP_003334

WP_003333 WP_003336

Following dinner, Barry and I sat down for a movie and dessert. Cookies and Cream Arctic Zero, for me, and a Blueberry Cheesecake Milkshake for Barry.WP_003337

2 thoughts on “Grinding Gears

  1. Pingback: Grinding Gears | icmoreinu

Leave a Reply

