Bundo-ized Mama’s Mustard

The decision? Stay awake.

Well not so much stay awake of sleep, as relax and let what happens, happens. After running a quick pit stop, I arrived home around lunch time. Keeping it simple, and only having a bit of an appetite, I repeated yesterday’s Be Well Nutella on toast, this time with a bit of PB. (Life is always better with peanut butter.)

          Except for that one time when I was refeeding and ate half a jar…

After finalizing the post, I fell asleep watching the Harry Potter marathon. It was the perfect nap- right about an hour- enough to refresh and regroup.

Since I had fallen asleep the other night watching the new Die Hard, I asked dad if her wanted to come over to watch it after work. He came over, but not after I sent him on a mission. I have been dying for Mexican food! NOT that Tex-Mex mess- REAL Mexican Food. There are two places that have made my list: El Toro, for take out ( I’m addicted to the Chili Rojo de Puerco and guacamole salad), and El Jefe, for dine in. I made dad swing by El Jefe to get me fried scallions, also known as cebollitas. I’m on a mission to find out just what the spices are that season these onions, so I can try to make them at home. Anyone got any ideas? From what I can find on Mr. Google, its just lime juice and sea salt… That just sounds too simple.

In the midst of keeping things simple, I reached in the freezer and pulled out two Healthy Choice meals Dad and I had gotten a while back.

WP_003224

The cebollitas were perfecto with The Salisbury Steak meals! Although these meals smelled great, I really was not impressed. The eat was small and a little tough, there wasn’t much flavor to the gravy, the mashed  potatoes are never a good idea in any frozen meal, but  I always enjoy the veggies.

WP_003225

It was interesting having both my parents watching the movie with me, all of us getting along.

WP_003231

Snacky-Sammy began to set in, in which I ate a Special K Chocolatey Pretzel cereal bar. Barry came over after work and ordered Chinese food for dinner, so did Frank and my brothers. I ordered a small hot and sour soup, shocker, and stole one of the guys dumplings (I love that dipping sauce!) Thinking f I treated myself to a small craving, the urge would go away, Barry and I picked up Reese Whoppers. Thats right, peanut butter coated malted milk balls! A few of these, and I was set!

WP_003236

Moms mood quickly change after my dad left. She went to the store and returned with this:

WP_003238

I immediately approached her about the recent conversation we had regarding bringing home trigger foods, and she began accusing me of telling her what to do. I’ve said it before, its just not easy when you are not surrounded by support.

To take my mind off the full pizza sitting on my kitchen table and the minor anxiety that followed my soup, I cooked. I decided to whip up some homemade mustard sauce to be used in a recipe later this week. (By the way, be prepared for a few Bundo-ized comfort foods).

I promised this recipe about a month ago, so here it is. Its actually my moms recipe, that I altered. Every party we host or attend, this mustard is always requested. Yeah, its that good! My mom’s recipe calls for  sugar and  eggs, and very un-precise measurements of the remaining ingredients.

When I made this for my grad party, I used a 50/50 mix of Splenda and sugar, last night I tweaked it a bit more. The granulated Splenda, as awesome as it is, does not have the same melting point as sugar. The more sugar, you use in this recipe, the silkier, the mustard looks. I’ve made this before using all Splenda, and the taste does not change. The mustard just looks a bit thicker, rather than silky.

Bundo Honey Mustard SauceWP_003237

yields approximately 3/4 cup

3/4 cup liquid egg substitute

2 Tbsp white sugar

1/4 cup, plus 2 Tbsp granulated Splenda

5 level Tbsp of Colemans dry mustard powder

pinch of salt

1/2 cup distilled white vinegar

WP_003239Combine all the ingredients, except vinegar and blend until smooth. Allow the blend to sit at room temperature for at least 30 minutes, reblending the mix, occasionally. Reblending and settling at room temperature ensures the eggs do not immediately cook once over the heat and the flavors are evenly distributed. In a small pot, over the lowest heat setting, pour the mustard in. (Scrape the sides of the bowl to make sure you get all of the blend in the pot- every drop counts). With a spatula, continuously scrape the sides of the pot and stir the the mustard, until it begins to thicken. Once the mix begins to slightly stick to the spatula, pour in the vinegar and continue to scrape the sides of the pot and stir continuously. This is the longest process of the recipe, but the end result is worth it. Continue the stirring on low heat to ensure the eggs are fully cooked and the vinegar cooks out.

WP_003241The mustard continues to thicken and take on a sheen (The more sugar in the recipe, the shinier the mustard). Once at a smooth thickness, pour into a separate bowl, cool, and refrigerate for storage.

Nutrition per 2 Tbsp:

Calories: 51, Fat: 0.7g, Sat. Fat: 0g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 43.1mg, Carbs: 4.5g, Fiber: 0g, Sugars: 3.4g, Protein: 2.2g

This mustard is probably one of my favorite condiments! I’ve put it on grilled cheeses, grilled chicken breast, and later in the week, I will be crusting a meatloaf with it! Stay tuned and enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Bundo-ized Mama’s Mustard

  1. Pingback: Meatloaf Mania | Be Well Bundo

  2. Pingback: Backstreets Back | Be Well Bundo

  3. Pingback: Its Almost Here | Be Well Bundo

  4. Pingback: Mean and Green | Be Well Bundo

  5. Pingback: Hectic Weekend | Be Well Bundo

  6. Pingback: Chili(y) | Be Well Bundo

  7. Pingback: Mama’s Lean-zagna | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

