Repeat Movies

It seemed as though the animals were conspiring against me, last night. If it wasn’t one, it was the other, getting me up to go to the bathroom. Oh, and apparently, I was well hydrated, as well, because when the animals let me sleep, my own bladder woke me up.

My plans for today were cancelled. It was supposed to be an early start with a trip to moms work. Apparently,  she talks about me quite a bit and wanted me to meet every one. Well, the people she wanted me to meet weren’t in, today, so away I slept.

I woke up in a daze. I couldn’t believe I slept so late. The weather changed yesterday and the temperature dropped last night. I guess I was just too cozy in my blanket to notice the sun peaking in through the window blinds.

Breakfast, at 1pm was an anticipated slice of toast spread with Be Well Nutella. This stuff is my new addiction. Along with this was a bowl of pineapple.

WP_003220

Mid-day, around 4pm, or so, I finished my Gnu Brownie bar, and vindicated my inner child with a chocolate milk made with Flax milk and sugar free chocolate syrup.

Despite all of my sleep, nothing could get me going today. I curled up on the couch with my glass of chocolate milk, studying for the boards, and discovering the classic “Forrest Gump” on TV. I adore this movie! Some movies I can watch repeatedly! I never get tired of them. Its funny, though, I only watch them when the are on TV…

What movies can you watch over and over again?

Armagedon and “Independence Day are two that are constantly on FX and are always watched in our living room. Yes, we have the DVD, but we only watch it on FX. I literally sit there, completely mesmerized, saying the lines before the movie does!

Stardust is frequently on the Shotime network. I think the magical aspects of the movie are what suck me in.

We all know I’m a dork and a complete sucker for the Harry Potter movies! Yes, I own the books and the movies, and watch the Harry Potter weekends on ABC Family channel. The only time I will not watch these movies is during the 25 Days of Christmas. Come on, ABC Family! What the heck does HP have to do with Christmas? There is literally 1 snowy scene in each movie! One! Give me Snow Meiser, of Nestor the Long Eared Donkey! (Ironically, a marathon was on when I got home from work).

Pretty much any Marvel Comic movie, expect for the Hulk, will pretty much do me in. Fantastic 4, Iron Man, X-Men! Bring it! I think it may stem from my Power Rangers fetish as a kid. I used to pretend to be Kimberly, the Taradactle, the Pink Power Ranger! I used to stand on the couch and body slam my dad, I mean, Ivan Ooze! Yeah, I was kind of a bad ass…

Disney shows the old movies that I grew up watching; the ones that were Disney Original movies when they aired and I watched them. Ironically, one of them was on last night, during work: Zenon: Girl of the 21st Century! I’ve always been fascinated by space and the future, if you couldn’t already tell by my Star Trek and Twilight Zone obsession. Just thinking about Zenon makes me sing, “Zoom, zoom, zoom, make my heart go oum, boom. My super nova girl!

All in all, I was pretty lazy for the afternoon, but was able to squeeze in a nap before mom got home from work. I sat her down and expressed my feelings regarding her actions. She understood how the trigger foods effect me, emotionally, and said she would make a conscious effort to not bring them home. She also acknowledged how the trigger foods she brings home are not healthy and that she needs to make an effort to make better food choices.

After a shower and an effective conversation with mom, I headed off to work, with a coffee in my hand, for an odd shift: 11pm to 11am. The unit needed coverage from 7am to 11am and I offered to help. To power me through the night, I brought a Peachy Pistachio Chobani Flip. Frankly, I was curious. I’ve never been impressed with peach yogurt, and have never even thought out peach and chocolate together. This flip cup was peach Greek yogurt with dark chocolate chips and pistachios. Mild is the only way I can describe it. The bitterness of the dark chocolate paired well with the tart and sweet yogurt.  There was just the right amount of chocolate to satisfy my raving but not make me want to go into chocolate overload. The pistachios were like the surprise at the bottom of a cereal box: you forgot it was there, but what a nice treat it was!

WP_003221

My only qualm is the amount of sugar in it, but sugar content is an issue with any flavored yogurt, really.

The girls and I also split a bag of 94% fat free kettle corn. (We are popcorn people on my unit).

My assignment was more than I usually have so I kept incredibly busy. This worked out for me because it allowed me to listen to my body cues and not snack! I was so busy, that in the 12 hours at work, I never even was able to pick up my NCLEX book!

Around 7am, I sat down to give myself a bit more fuel to power me through the end of my shift. I love this individual packages by Oscar Meyer. They are the perfect size for someone like me, plus, they freeze and defrost great, so I can buy them when they are on sale and eat when I ‘m ready for it. With this 6 slice packet, I made turkey roll-ups, filled with dill pickle halves, celery, and bell pepper slices. I love the crunch from the veggies, the sweetness from the peppers, and saltiness from the lunch meat. A packet of graham crackers also joined the party.

WP_003222

I was surprised by how awake I was for the last four hours of my shift. I think what really helped get me through the night, was not my 2 cups of coffee, but a combination of two beverages. I’ve noticed the carbonation in the soda helps make me feel full, so when I picked my girlfriend up a Diet Cherry Coke on the way to work, I thought I’d second that notion. Also, my green tea concentrate from Herbalife always perks me up, fills me up, and boost my metabolism, as an added bonus!

I felt so on top of my game, this shift. So much better than last shift! The 12 hours flew by! Now its 11am, and I have dilemma… To sleep or not to sleep? That is the question…

Leave a Reply

