Seaside Traditions

The morning began, NOT with a shake….

The morning began with…. drum roll, please… Blood Work!!!

WP_003144 WP_003145

WP_003147

on the road

Yeah, not exactly how one wants to begin the day, let alone the new week, but a fasting work up is a fasting work up… Dad and I both had so routine labs drawn, and rewarded ourselves by grabbing coffee, hitting the road, and basking in the tradition that IS Jimmy’s Breakfast!

WP_003148

Delicious!

A side order of scrapple was shared. Everything this place has is spectacular. Its classic diner food, but the tradition and memories of Jimmy’s really put me in my glory. Pancakes, huge belgian waffles, yummy omelettes… and you have to get the scrapple. Its tradition.

WP_003149

getting messy

WP_003152

Dave, the owner

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I ordered an egg over medium, stole half of dads scrapple and a slice of rye toast (from his Western omelette platter) to create an open faced sandwich. Dave, the owner even brought us out two slices of his new Trenton pork roll to try! Haha! (I’ve never had pork roll before…I’m still a scrapple girl.)

Once we finished our last cups of coffee, we hit the boardwalk. Today, I had a short list of things I needed to bring home, and a long list of things to do with dad. I have been so excited about this day, I’ve been planning it since last week. Dad and I usually, only get to the shore about once a year. I’ve been really lucky that I’ve been here almost once a week, the past three weeks!

Just like eating breakfast at Jimmy’s, daddy and I have boardwalk traditions:

Shoot the Geek

WP_003169

Air Hockey (I let dad win. Yeah… let him win…)

WP_003171
Mini gulf/Putput (its actually on a roof!) (I got my first hole in one!)

WP_003156 WP_003157
sausage, peppers, and onions from Midway (I got one for Barry, today)
The shooting gallery

WP_003172
Stopping at The Red and Green Tops on the way home (they are side-of-the-road produce stands) (where theres aisles of Jersey tomatoes!)

WP_003178 WP_003180

The ferris wheel…

Thats a special tradition. It began with my poppop. Every summer, since I can remember, he took me on the ferris wheel. Our ferris wheel was huge and had the caged seats. I would look forward to riding the ferris wheel with him every year, look down at my parents and wave, as if I was the expectionally special child that got to spend time just with my poppop.

The ferris wheel, as my dad was less able to handle the turning, spinning rides that make you regret eating that caramel apple 20 minutes earlier, he and I would ride and I’d ride again with my grandpa. After poppop died in 2005, just looking at the ferris wheel choked me up.

Unfortunately, that was another tradition Sandy took from me… from many…

A special thing that happened, today, was going to Spicy Cantina with my dad. Ever since I was a kid, my family would go her and grab a drink and maybe a bite. Its a pretty happening place on the boardwalk and, today, I was finally able to sit at the bar and have a drink with my dad! I got a diet coke with Mango Cruzan. I totally recommend this combo! It was refreshing and summery!

WP_003162

I also stole some bites of dad’s lunch, buffalo chicken white pizza from the Sawmill. MMMM… that pizza is just so good! The cheese is so creamy and smooth! And its freaking huge! To help with the humid day, a bit of Kohrs Bros. Orange Cream, with rainbow jimmies! For the rarity that I get to have these treats, its worth the money and a few bites!

WP_003174 WP_003175 WP_003177

WP_003181Year after year, dad and I drive past this sign for Johnson’s Corner Market and Bakery advertising Iced Corn. What the heck is iced corn? Detour! We finally got to see what the hype was about. We pulled up to this cute lot full of tractors, and green houses, and a colorful barn-like building. As we walked into the building, we were smacked in the face with an incredible scent of baked goods! The first thing I saw was a cabinet of chocolate covered pretzels. I’ve never seen such a variety of chocolate covered pretzels! Then, my inner cookie monster sense kicked in and my eyes wondered to the next case. These were the biggest snickerdoodles I had ever seen!

WP_003182 WP_003183WP_003185

We continued to wander the store, looking at the local products and store made dips and items. I had to do a double-take at the cooler. Blueberry salsa?? I can’t be reading that right. Entirely too intrigued, I grabbed a small container, for my blueberry-fiend of a boyfriend. The check out clerk raved about it, so when we got home, dad and I snuck a bite. I don’t know if I would get it again, though, but it was unique. Not bad, though. (Iced corn, by the way… its not like a dessert, its just corn, literally on ice…. like to keep chilled…)

Oh and we were on a serious winning streak at Lucky Leo’s!

WP_003153

Yay for an awesome Daddy-Daughter Date Day!

WP_003167

Leave a Reply

