Happy 80th, Mr. Cassel!

Dinner, last night was in the form of a classic: grilled ham and cheese (with homemade mustard) and wonton soup. The combo is a classic, maybe not these specific flavors…

WP_002990

Barry and I fell asleep mighty early, last night, but still managed to sleep in until about 830am. As Barry had a craving for blueberry waffles, I enjoyed a Dannon Greek Light and Fit Toasted Coconut Vanilla Blend topped with ground flax. I always like adding flax or sunflower seeds to sweeter yogurts, as it helps to cut some of the sugary bite.

WP_002991WP_002992

 

I always manage to find Harry Potter on TV and forced Barry to kill a little time watching it with me as he threw in a load of laundry. I find it amusing all the his and her pictures I take of our food. Today’s snack, before hitting the road, was a packet of Wawa apples for me… And a banana and chocolate shake for Barry.

WP_002993 WP_002994

We arrived early for Mr. Cassel’s surprise party, but within the hour the birthday boy arrived!

WP_003001 WP_003003

WP_003004WP_003007

 

My aunt has a caterer friend how has been doing her parties, lately. The chicken marsala is always pretty good, but the green beans were exceptional, today! There was also a tray of baked ziti and roast beef, as well as potato salad and cole slaw… all the usual suspects…

WP_003005

 

My boyfriend must be a big kid (but I think I already knew that) because within five minutes of arriving to the party, he and my little cousin, Olivia, engaged in a splash war.

Grandmom wasted no time in digging into the punch, that Aunt Chrissy makes. Its some sort of Bacardi based tropical-ish drink that many guests love, but thats just too strong for me! Nonetheless, mommom had pounded back a few and started to get goofy!

WP_002997 WP_002999

WP_003000

Following the laughs and socializing and delicious food, and a boyfriend with a full tummy, Mr. Cassel blew out his candles and we headed home for the evening, to face some serious downpour on the highway!

WP_003010 WP_003012

 

Happy 80th Birthday, Mr. Cassel!

Leave a Reply

