Happy 4th!

Happy 4th of July, everyone!

I spent the majority of my day at work. Unfortunately, no matter the holiday, there are always sick little ones. My morning began with a mug of Chocolate Cherry coffee that I got while at the Denver airport back in April. Sometimes coffee really just hits the spot. 

After completing my first set of rounds and bathing a few babies, I sat down to one of my favorites: nonfat coffee yogurt. I wanted something to crunch this morning, so rather than eating graham crackers, like usual, I sliced up an apple and dipped it into my yogurt. A surprisingly excellent combo!

WP_002874

I attempted to keep busy the remainder of my shift, and while most of the girls ordered hoagies for lunch, I enjoyed a bowl of watermelon to hold me over until the end of my shift. 

I decided I wanted to grill some steaks for the holiday and enjoyed a very appropriate holiday meal with my guys (dad, Frank, and Barry): steaks, corn on the cob, macaroni salad, salsa,pretzels, and chips, and watermelon. YUM!

WP_002875

To complete the meal with a red, white, and blue theme I mashed 1/2 cup blueberries in 1/2 cup fat free cool whip and dolloped it into four dessert shells. I topped each one with sliced strawberries.

WP_002876

One of my favorite things to do on the fourth isn’t what you’d think. I’ve mentioned my dorky obsession with the Twilight Zone before, and every year on July 4th and New Years, ScyFy channel plays a marathon! I’m officially glued to my TV those days! 

After Barry left for work, I watch some Zone until 830pm. I headed over to Barry’s work, where he gave me a tour of the site.

WP_002877 WP_002878

We eventually found our way to the roof of one of the buildings, where we stood and watched the fireworks. It was quite neat, actually. You could see multiple firework shows in various parts of the county all from this one roof!

WP_002880 WP_002882

What are your favorite Twilight Zone episodes? 

I love “To Serve Man,” and “Night of the Meek.” I  really could make a whole list of my favorites!

What are your Fourth of July memories and traditions?

I can remember when I was younger, my mom and dad used to pack up a picnic basket with snacks. We would go to the soccer field a few blocks away, lay out the big red blanket, and eat hot dogs. 

Thanks to all the vets and active military! Its because of you that we are able to live safely and comfortable everyday!

Leave a Reply

