Tomato Pie

WP_002862

RIP Bullet

Today began in mourning. The catch on the MagicBullet cracked right in half!

WP_002860Luckily, I had a spare in the cupboard to make shakes! I made Frank and dad a Black and Muddy shake using soy nut butter and peanut butter, while I went with an Irish Creme shake, using my Da Vinci sugar free Irish Creme syrup and Cafe Latte Herbalife powder.

After shakes, Barry came over for a shooting date! He had some work done on his rifle and it was time to test it out!

WP_002863 WP_002864

I think my aim is getting better… well… I hope it is, any way  😛

We stopped at the Dairy Palace on our way back to fix Barry’s craving for a blueberry shake. I enjoyed a Dannon Light & Fit Greek Pineapple yogurt with chia seeds back at the house.

WP_002865

When we got back home, I prepared some food and realized I didn’t want it anymore… so I gave it to Frank for dinner. Instead, I wanted something to hold me over…

WP_002867

Yes, its Gerber. These things are 70 calories, and I topped it with chunky marinara sauce. Its perfect enough for when I’m not really feeling up to a full meal!

Zumba came to the rescue, yet again, tonight. I LOVE ZUMBA!

In other news, I thought I’d share my Tomato Pie with you today. The key, is the sauce. A mildly sweet and garlic-filled sauce on a firm, crispy soft crust!

Easy Tomato Pie

2 tubes Pillsbury Pizza crust (I like the thin crust and the Artisan whole grain)

garlic powder, dusting

2 Tbsp minced garlic

1 can crushed tomatoes in puree

3 Splenda packets

2 tsp Italian seasoning

1 tsp basil

1/2 tsp oregano, plus more

crush red pepper flakes, optional

Heat a pot to medium heat and add the minced garlic. Once the garlic has heated for about 30 seconds, pour the tomatoes in the pot a stir. Follow, by adding Splenda and herbs. Continue to prepare the crust, while stirring sauce occassionally.

Preheat oven according to package directions. Spray baking pan with non stick cooking spray and roll out dough. Use fingertips to finger and press the dough to the edges to create a small crust. Dust the dough with garlic powder and bake for 8 minutes.

WP_002797

 

Remove from oven and pour about 1 cup of sauce (gravy, as its called in these parts) in the center of the dough. Spread the sauce evenly over the dough, sprinkle with additional oregano, and red pepper flakes for a kick. Return to the oven and bake for another 10 minutes, or more until crust is crisp, but soft.

WP_002796

Allow to cool, slice, and enjoy! Mangia!

*Remember: if you’re using fresh herbs, as opposed to dried, its 1 Tbsp fresh= 1 tsp dried.

Leave a Reply

