A Small Feat

It never ceases to amaze me the difference a run can make. Ever a brisk walk changes my entire attitude! Yesterday, I was so proud of myself with my eating habits, but started to get a serious stomach ache around 3pm. What the heck? Is that what I get for eating right? A belly ache?! I was able to fall asleep for a short nap, only to wake up, getting sick! Yuck! What a party pooper!

I wanted to eat but every time I nibbled on something, my body just told me “no.” Maybe some ginger ale, I thought. I got myself together and took a walk down to the 7-Eleven. I figured moving around might just help. On my way home, with a diet ginger ale in hand, I figured it out. Soup! That’s what I want. I called the Chinese restaurant down the road and walked over to pick up a small Hot and Sour Soup. Was this smart? Hot and sour with an upset belly? I guess I’ll find out. I sat down with my soup and a sleeve of saltines. It worked like magic! But, before I knew it, the sleeve of saltines was no more! Yeah, the whole sleeve! But I sure felt better!

WP_002640

I called my dad before heading to sleep last night to ease some mild anxiety I was having after eating the darn saltines. When I woke this morning, I had every intention of being productive. We are supposed to be expecting some big storm this week, but the weather was gorgeous! Still feeling a little guilt, I got changed, and took a swift walk to the local post office to ship a small package to Meaghen, in New York. On my way home, I stopped by the bank. It was game time. With nothing to carry, the sun out, and a cool breeze, I ran home. Although it may seem small, I ran a mile without stopping! For me, this is quite an accomplishment. With each step closer to home, my smile grew! Like I said, it just never ceases to amaze my what a difference even the shortest run can make!

After catching my breath, I made a Strawberry Kiwi Protein Shake.WP_002641 WP_002642

1 scoop Vanilla protein powder
1 kiwi
1 oz frozen strawberries
water
ice

I loved the texture the kiwi seeds gave the shake. (Warning: kiwi seeds can get stuck in your teeth :p)

I followed this up by completing some chores around the house and some paper work for my nursing license.

I called work to offer my time in any spaces in the schedule. Well, guess what? One of the girls called out sick, so I picked up a 12 hours shift! Immediate nap time!

I woke up ready to go! Since June 12th in National Peanut Butter Cookie day, I wanted to make something along those lines. This was my attempt at a PB Cookie-esque Shake:WP_002643

1 scoop Chocolate protein powder
1 Tbsp. Better n’ Peanut Butter (low sodium)
1 oz frozen chopped apple
a few dashes apple pie spice
a few raisins

It wasn’t too shabby! Once I got to work, a saw a slice of strawberry shortcake, that had definitely been picked on by the girls. But they missed the best part: the strawberry on top! YUM!

I found a big salad from a party from earlier left over for the night shift folks to eat. It was Season’s Chopped Salad with grilled chicken (iceberg, gorganzola, bacon, tomato, black olives, green peppers, hard boiled eggs), one of my favorites! My old job was addicted to Seasons and I ate this salad at least twice a week! So with a nice helping of that with the house balsamic, and a bowl of broccoli slaw, salsa, and microwaved egg whites, I was full of nutritionally dense, guilt free protein!

WP_002644 WP_002645

Like I said, a nice run, even a brief one can really set your day up for success!

Leave a Reply

