Memorial Day

Memorial Day was on a Monday this year, which meant no work for Dad! Instead, we took advantage of this beautiful day!

I had worked a 12 the night before and so Dad picked me up abit after 2pm. We headed to the park for some basketball! I’ve played basketball since third grade, and although I am far from an All Star, I love it!

It was a beautiful day, full of fun and laughter! Dad and I even managed to work up a bit of a sweat! After a few drills on the court, we each hydrated ourselves with a bottle of water, and drove around the city, exploring the nicer areas of the city and admiring the Brandywine River.  I figure that such a nice day, called for some further exploring and Daddy-Daughter time. I took Dad to what I had previously called The Secret Garden. Dad loved it! The last time I was there it was beautiful. This time, the flowers were in bloom, making the scene even more majestic. To further relay the essence of Spring time, baby bunnies were out to play! We finished our day with a trip to the grocery store and a snack.

WP_002485WP_002487 WP_002489 WP_002490

I picked up the Chobani Flip Vanilla Golden Crunch, vanilla Greek yogurt with corn flakes, oats, and pralines (the pralines are what sold me on this) . I have never been a fan of vanilla yogurt, but this was the best I’ve ever had. I added some extra crunch with some Multigrain Cheerios, and we finished our snacks with Watermelon.

WP_002491

Speaking of Chobani, I finally tried some of the Chobani bites flavors. As much as I love fresh figs, I have not found a single fig yogurt that I have enjoyed, the Chobani bite Fig with Orange Zest is included. Although I coud differentiate the texture of the fig, I did not get much flavor from the fig or the zest, and was rather disappointed. On a higher note the Chobani bite Caramel with Pineapple Chunks was awesome! It was sweet with big chunks of pineapple evenly distributed in the cup, and is prefect for a guitless treat!

In other food news:

Over the course of the last blog-less weeks, I cooked Barry dinner! He had never eaten eggplant before, so I made him my favorite stir-fry and ampted it up with some chicken breast.

WP_002476

I also made a super yummy and refreshing shake! I had always heard of the lemon and raspberry combination. I had a handful of raspberries that I wanted to use up and thought this would be the perfect opportunity to experiment. This tart, berry bursting shake filled me up, woke me up, and was over all a winner!

Lemon Raspberry ShakeWP_002479 (1)

1/3- 1/2 cup fresh raspberries

1/2 Tbsp sugar free Raspberry Torani syrup

1 Tbsp sugar free, fat free Lemon pudding mix

1/8 xanthum

water

ice

Another night, I knew  was going to be relatively sedentary at work, since I knew I would be working the 1:1. I opted for a protein dinner in the form of eggs. Yes, liquid egg substitute, like Egg Beaters, can be microwaved. I used 1/2 cup, and tossed it with a large handful of broccoli slaw, 2 Tbsp of shredded fat free cheddar cheese, and some hot sauce! I microwaved this baby, giving it a stir ever y 30 to 45 second or so until it was fully coked. Everyone kept entering the break room asking what smelled so good. They were so surprised when I told them it was eggs!

WP_002482

I also Have been seriously utilizing Greek yogurt and cucumber. I salmon and dill salad, much like the Dill Chicken salas, but this time, added a chopped dill pickle and fat free Thousand Island dressing. I ate this at work over spring mix and sliced bell pepper. I have really been digging bell peppers lately. Not only do they have low glycemic index, but the also are very filling!

Dill Salmon SaladWP_002425       

serves 2

1 6oz plain non fat Greek yogurt

1 md cucumber, peeled and deseeded, chopped

1 tsp chopped or minced garlic

1 tsp dillWP_002483

2 Tbsp fat free Thousand Island dressingWP_002478

2 dill pickles chopped

a pinch of salt and pepper

1 5oz can salmon

Well, I guess that was a nice foodie recap of the last few weeks, plus it helped pass time on this not-so-busy night shift!

Speaking of foodie recaps, there are two things I must share with you. SmartOnes has oatmeal now! I’m a huge stickler for breakfast, and am I firm believer in this jump starting your metabolism, and setting you up for a productive day. The oatmeal comes in 3 classics flavors: Apples and Cinnamon, Maple and Brown Sugar, and Peaches and Cream. Also, KIND has released a few new flavors as well: Maple Glazed Pecan & Sea Salt and Dark Chocolate Chili Almond! I haven’t seen either products on shelves yet, but keep your eyes peeled, and comment with your opions on the new products!

Leave a Reply

