Jury Duty

Today I reported for Jury Duty. This was my first time ever reporting. Not really knowing what to expect, I ate a yogurt with chia before heading over to the court house. Every so often we were allowed a break. Thank goodness there was a Dunkin Donuts in the building. The coffee was much need to stay awake and to take off the chill. But seriously, all I ate for the remainder of the day was the darn peanut butter crackers from the vending machines! I couldn’t wait to get home to eat real food.

After eight hours of sitting in a chair and studying for the NCLEX, I was finally called for a trial, which I wound up being excused  for since I had work during the days the trial was to take place. Shortly after returning to the holding room, where the rest of the potential jurors were, we were allowed to go. I called dad and told him to get his but over the the house for dinner. I couldn’t wait to eat legitimate food!

Bacon Tuna MeltWP_002546

1 5oz can tuna fish

2 generous Tbsp Walden Farms Creamy Bacon Ranch dressing

1/4 medium onion, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

1 Tbsp real bacon bits, plus more for later

Mix all the ingredients together. Spray a skillet with non stick cooking spray. Place the bread on the hot skillet over medium high heat. Spoon half the tuna mixture in the skillet and allow the tuna to warm. Occasionally flip the tuna the ensure it all warms. Flip the bread over and place the tuna over the browned side of the bread. Top the tuna with a slice of cheese, if you’d like, and  the other browned slice. Continue to flip the sandwich until the sides are toasty.

WP_002553 WP_002555

Dad had his with fat free pepper jack cheese, while I went open faced with fat free mozzarella. I served it with a handful of crunchy baby carrots! (I love crunchy veggies!)

Dessert was raspberries and cottage cheese, sprinkled with Chocolate PB2.

WP_002551

After sitting for 8 hours, the last thing I wanted to do was stay in the house. I got myself together and headed off to a local Zumba class. Sitting around for that long definitely made me sleepy, but forcing a smile on my face at Zumba and grooving to the beats really made the time pass and made me feel great!

After arriving home nice and sweaty, I was full of energy. Luckily, I had my new hula hoop to keep me busy! I was high off endorphins and spent a decent amount of time hula hooping to a playlist that I affectionately call “Hoop the Hula.” (Psst. Black Betty is a great one!)

To end the night, I figured out how to use skype and skyped with Barry, who is away at drill. I’ve never skyped before so I was kind excited. Sounds like a silly thing to be excited over, doesn’t it? Either way, it amazes me how much a good work out can perk you up!

Leave a Reply

