Playing Catch Up

Like I said, I have not blogged in quite awhile. In fact, my dad text me the other night with the following:

“U havent blogged in ten days?? wtf”

Time to play a little catchup on the last week or so.

Two Saturdays ago, I met up with friends from highschool for a Class of 2009 Bar Crawl. It wasn’t ecxactly your typical bar crawl, as it was a few friends that had a drink at 3 different places on Main Street, Newark. It was a nice way for me to introduce Barry to a few freinds from highschool, as well as reunite with a really old friend from high school, Audrey!

WP_002382 WP_002383

The following day, the city of Newark had its Memorial Day Parade. It was a rather cool, rainy and dreary day, but Barry, as well as his housemate and a good friend from nursing school, were in it.

WP_002414

This year was the 60th Anniversary of the Korean War. I loved seeing all the vets, smiling with so much pride! Being there was also special for me because my grandfather is a Korean War Veteran. The VA Hospital in Wilmington has a long term care facility, where  I did my clinical rotation my very first  semester of nursing school. They brought some of the residents to be in the parade. It was great to see them still getting around and smiling!

WP_002406Handsome fella, ain’t he??

WP_002509 WP_002511

The following Tuesday was a gloomy day. Another binge and purge occurred and I was in a ball the remainder of the day. It seemed that I could not move or get myself out of this funk. Ironically, later in the day, once I got up, I had a small bowl of carb smart ice cream and felt a bit better. Chocolate has amazing powers!

I had no choice but to improve my mood the following day: Graduation Day!

After all of my hard work, craziness, eating disorder, endless hours of studying… it was here! I’m graduating! I dressed in a white sun dress and wedges, and completed the ensable with a green cap and gown, a gold stole and white rope to indicate my officer position in Phi Theta Kappa and and graduating cum laude!

923150_4476682209951_2026691336_n

Mom, Dad, Frank, and Barry were there, as were my two brothers, my neighbor, my Aunt Carol and, godfather, Uncle Bert, Aunt Chrissy and my two little cousins, my godmother, Aunt Cathy, and my Grandmother. I had to requests when graduating: to have something of my grandmother and grandfather with me on stage as I graduate. It was fate, as my grandmothers wedding band fit perfectly on my finger. My grandmother brought with her a few items of my grandfathers to choose from. Once I chose one of his pendants to wear, my grandmother told me I could keep all of the momentums!

WP_002446 WP_002448 WP_002456

The family surprised me with beautiful flowers. Barry even did  really well! MY favorite color is pink and my favorite flower is a lily. Pink lilies and roses! Score!

WP_002468 WP_002473

After a nice and brief ceremony, we headed out to Grottos to meet up with some friends. The table split a chicken cheese steak which I loved), and a veggie calzone! No worrying tonight!

WP_002470

I am a Graduate Nurse!!!

Leave a Reply

