Can Working Out Be Fun?

Today was a lazy, and I do mean lazy, day! I guess my body is finally trying to recuperate after two years of non-stop work. I started the day with a shake that tasted like Andes Mint candy! WP_002347

2 scoops Chocolate protein powder

1 tsp DaVinci sugar free Creme de Menthe 

1 Russel Stovers sugar free mint pattie

a handful of spinach

water

ice

I had a difficult time getting myself motivated today. This was odd because typically on days that begin with shakes, I get up and going! I ran some errands and picked up a few things from the store.

Today was so lazy that I wound up taking a nap. When I woke up, The Chew was on (I love this show) featuring desserts. Needless to say, I quickly grew a hankering for something sweet. Rather than grabbing something like a candy bar, I ate a SlimFast Chocolatey Vanilla Blitz snack bar. It was only 100 calories and tasted a bit like cookies and cream.

I am so glad my girlfriends called me and invite me to a Zumba class tonight. Finally, I can feel productive! But guess what, when she called to verify the time, the class had been cancelled! Boo!

I remembered seeing a sign a few blocks away at Club 3 about Zumba classes. After giving them a call, I found out they offer the class 4 days a week! Although my girlfriend couldn’t make it into the city tonight, I went anyway. The instructor was engaging and incorporated both Zumba music and contemporary dance music. My favorite dance of the class was “Get Out of Your Mind.” It really pumped me up!

I love when work outs don’t actually feel like work outs! Thats why I am such a huge fan of Zumba and Hip Hop Abs. I put a smile on my face to help get me motivated and the smile sticks around until the end of the workout! Then, I smile some more because I feel good, I know I burned calories, and I got to dance my butt off!

A workout secret: smiling puts you in a better mood to work out and keeps you going. If your not really feeling a workout, fake it till ya make it and pop a smile on your face!

A few hours before heading to the Zumba class, I made some Dill Chicken Salad, which I ate with some Sea Salt and Cracked Black Pepper Quakes and steamed brussel sprouts.

Dill Chicken SaladWP_002348

serves 2

1 6oz plain non fat Greek yogurt

1 md cucumber, peeled and deseeded

1 tsp chopped or minced garlic

1 tsp dill

a pinch of salt and pepper

1 10oz can 98% fat freeTyson Grilled and Ready Chunk White Chicken

This is the only way I can get my mom to eat yogurt! The dill flavoring is mild and the cucumbers add a refreshing crunch!

One thought on “Can Working Out Be Fun?

  1. Pingback: Hectic Weekend | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

