Blind Dates

Have you ever been on a blind date? Last night was my first.

Blind dates are nerve-racking. There’s all these unknowns and unwritten rules. Then you try to figure out what to wear. Its like a job interview. Nothing provocative, not too conservative. Do you have a drink with them? If things work out, do you kiss this person you just met?

And then there’s the whole Facebook thing. To friend request or not friend request? How soon is too soon to text this person?

Clearly, I am not a dating guru.

Maybe its just me being paranoid.

For the sake of the blog, I googled “blind date dos and don’ts” and tons of pages came up!

Etiquette 101

Surviving the Blind Date

Top Rules for Blind Dating

I’m just glad my girlfriend set this up and was there to help out this new experience.

WP_002242

We met at a bar called 1984, which is kind of an arcade bar. I was kicking some Ms Pacman butt! The bathroom was plastered with Michael J. Fox wall paper!

WP_002244 WP_002245

A little after the band started, we headed to Applebees for continued fun and late night appetizer specials.

By the way, things went great and we have plans for another date! He walked me to my car and after I got in and saw he had walked away, I screamed like a little gitty girl!

I woke up this morning, still happy with the way things went last night.

I made myself a nice breakfast to get today started. A waffle-wich!

WP_002250

Kashi Belgium waffle, egg whites, and turkey sausage

Drizzled with a bit a sugar free syrup! Yummy and filling!

I planned on spending the entire morning finishing up some projects due this week, when Frank asked me if i was busy. ” I’m writing a paper. Why?” I took Frank to the hospital. It seemed like fluid overload related to his congestive heart failure.

I felt bad that I could not stay with him, like I usually do, but nursing school doesn’t care about the unexpected.

I headed off to work for a relatively uneventful shift. I was seeing red, though. It may sound like a silly thing to be frustrated over, but someone ate my dinner! I keep a couple frozen meals at work, labeled with my name. I brought steamed broccoli to have with my Lean cuisine. Well,when I went to get it… its not there! For someone with an eating disorder, who plans her meals, this is a big deal!

WP_002251

Luckily, I had eaten well today, and had spare calories. I keep an emergency protein bar (Blueberry Pomegranate Zone Bar) in my locker, so that, along with the steamed broccoli and an applesauce I jacked from the unit fridge. Not exactly what I had in mind for a Sunday night dinner…

Leave a Reply

