Autism Awareness Walk

A couple weeks ago, I saw a billboard for the local Autism Awareness Walk. I called my little cousin and asked if she would join me. My little cousin is a twin, and her twin sister is autistic. I registered the two of us as “Team Jacki,” but our team quickly grew. I got my mom to join and my cousin rounded up some of her friends!

??????

“Autism is the most common condition in a group of developmental disorders known as autism spectrum disorders (ASDs). Autism is characterized by impairments in three distinctive areas:

  • Verbal and non-verbal communication
  • Social interactions
  • Repetitive behaviors

It is estimated that between 1 in 80 and 1 in 240 with an average of 1 in 110 children in the United States have an ASD.

*compliments of Autism Delaware
For those Delawarean wanting to know more, visit Autism Delaware.

WP_002223

It was a great day spent with my family. After the walk, there was a BBQ and ice cream and the kids loved it! The bunch of us laid around on the grass, taking in the beautiful, sunny day!

WP_002236

Upon arriving home, I really wanted a burger. I heated Morning Star Farms Grillers California Turk’y Burger (one of my favorites!), and topped it with onion, sliced mushrooms, spinach, and a slice of fat free cheese, on an Arnold Flax and Fiber Sandwich Thins .

Leave a Reply

