100 and Counting! Sweet and Sour Pork Stir-fry

I am so excited! This is Be Well Bundo’s 100th post!

This blog has helped me so much with managing my crazy, hectic life, growing as a person, reflecting on my life, holding me accountable for my actions, and most importantly, helping to enjoy life again. I am truly thankful to the readers for helping be through my eating disorder.

As hard as I tried, I could not get warm today. Everyone of my patients said to me, “Your hands are so cold! Were you living in an ice box?” Temperatures have really dropped in Wilmington. Where are you sunshine and warmth? I miss you! I took my break early today, just to warm up with some coffee. I also enjoyed a Chobani Pear greek yogurt, that my friend Barbara got me hooked on. To even us out, I brought her Yoplait 100 greek Tropical yogurt. She loved it!

WP_002182

As of today, I have two more clinical days left. I must say that I never thought of loving a nursing home, but I have really fallen in love with my patients. With the clock running down, I starting to feel the pressure of getting all of these assignments completes, lectures watched, and exams aced! Staying focused on school is the key, not on food and exercise.

To celebrate, the 100th post, lets enjoy:

Sweet and Sour Pork Stir-fry

(adapted from Food Network)

serves 4WP_002188

1 lbs pork tenderloin, fat removed, cut into 1/2 inch pieces

2 1/2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

pinch of salt

1 Tbsp corn starch

3 Tbsp ketchup

3 Tbsp Splenda, granulated

1 Tbsp low sodium soy sauce

1/3 cup water

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 tsp salt

2 large carrots (or about 6 oz), sliced

1 bag frozen stir fry vegetable blend

1 1/2 to 2 cups frozen broccoli florets

Toss the pork with 1/2 Tbsp vinegar and a pinch of salt in a bowl. Mix the remaining 2 Tbsp vinegar, soy sauce, cornstarch, ketchup, Splenda, and water and remaining salt in another bowl.

Spray a large skillet with some non stick cooking spray, over medium high heat. Add the pork and slowly stir until pork is mostly opaque. Remove the pork using a slotted spoon. Wipe out the skillet and re spray with non stick spray.

Add the garlic, carrots, broccoli, and stir fry blend over medium heat, and cover. Add a bit of water if garlic is starting to stick to the pan. Once the vegetables start defrosting, add the pork, and pour the sauce over the mixture. Stir and cover. Frequently shake the covered skillet to move the ingredients around. Occasionally stir the mix, until sauce thickens. (Its important not to over cook the pork.)

(Confession: I forgot the cornstarch! Which is probably why the sauce didn’t thicken, but it was still delicious!)

WP_002189Nutrition

1/4 recipe, without rice:

Calories: 277

Total fat: 4.1g

sat. Fat: 1.2g

Cholesterol: 81mg

Sodium: 385.9mg

Carbs: 24.8g

Fiber: 4.8g

Sugar: 12.1g

Protein: 31g

Frank wanted rice with dinner, so I made him and dad brown rice, while I got the opportunity to try out my new shirataki rice by Miracle Noodle that came in from netrition.com a few weeks back.

First of all, I was surprised how much I liked this rice! I was pretty darn skeptical. It looks like a weird caviar, doesn’t it? In fact, I’m going to order more!

WP_002186 WP_002187

Now, onto what you really want to know: Yes, this recipe was great! It was filling, a little sweet, a little sour, full of veggies, and pork, and a winning way to celebrate the 100th post!

Enjoy, everyone! I know I did!

2 thoughts on “100 and Counting! Sweet and Sour Pork Stir-fry

  1. Congrats on the 100th post.. Im lucky that I have been able to have tasted many of your creations. Sweet and sour pork rocked !!!

  2. Pingback: Ode to Kathleen and Drinks Before Noon | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

