A Sucker for Staying Power

I spent the night at dads last night. When I am over, I like to make sure we eat breakfast together before he heads off to work. While brewing a pot of coffee, I played around in the kitchen and created a breakfast pizza! Its not your typical breakfast pizza that you would get at a deli, but its very similar.

A couple weeks back, I discovered 80 calorie, low carb, low fat Everything wraps by Tumaro. I thought this would be a nice incorporation with breakfast since it reminded me of an everything bagel. I sprayed a large skillet with non still cooking spray and laid the wrap over medium high heat. Meanwhile, chop up your choice of toppings. Today, we had peppers, onions, tomatoes, mushrooms, and spinach. Combine 1 egg with 1/4 cup of egg whites, or egg substitute. When the wrap has started toasting, remove from the pan. Spray the skillet again and lay the wrap, uncooked side down. Pour the eggs over top, sprinkle toppings and seasonings, reduce heat to medium low and cover. While the eggs are solidifying, I cut up a slice of Borden’s fat free PepperJack cheese,  and scattered that over top the egg.

WP_002152 WP_002154

Keep the eggs covered until cooked completely through. We are hot sauce and egg people in the Bundo house, so that was the final touch. Slide the fully cooked pizza out of the pan, slice and enjoy! I didn’t have an appetite for hours!

Can you tell dad was really digging it?

WP_002155

After dad left for work, I met up with my other dad, my stepdad, and we headed to the Farmer’s Market. I like going here for a couple reasons:

  • cheap! (lots of good stuff, for low prices)
  • ridiculously scrumptious pizza (Mama Gina’s is the best!)
  • Amish market (need I say more?)
  • produce (yum!)
  • puppies (theres a pet store and groomers in the  market, I just want to take them all home!)

WP_002157 WP_002158

Its also just a nice way to spend an hour or two out of the house.

On the way home, I stopped by the grocery store to see if I could grab some fruit cups. I didn’t find my fruit cups, but what I did find was a new bar to try!

WP_002178

I’ve really been on a malted milk ball kick, so when I came across Kashi’s Go Lean Dipped Chocolate Malt Crisp bar, I had to indulge! Oh my gosh! Love it! Its like candy! This whole bar has the same ammount of calories as a serving of Whoppers, but with less fat, less sugar, and more protein that actually fills you up, makes you feel satisfied, and has some serious staying power! I wasn’t hungry again until close to2 am at work!

I got to work early tonight to meet a friend at the Oncology Prom. Every year my hospital host Prom for the Oncology kids. I friend of mine is a former patient and invited to come! They really go all out for these kids! They serve dinner, theres a DJ, everyone looks beautiful! Last year, David Akers was the guest. This year, it was Miss Teen Delaware. After a couple dances, I helped clean up and headed to work. (Did I mention that I woke up at 5pm and could not fall back asleep today!?)

WP_002160 WP_002163

Like most meals at work, this one had to be microwaved. It was another Lean Cuisine (I think I prefer Lean Cuisine over Smart Ones): Grilled Chicken Ceasar. But wait! Thats a salad, not a frozen meal! What I liked about this meal, was the light,  cheesey sauce and the broccoli! The ceasar sauce was not rich, like many cream gravies. I added some chopped frozen asparagus to the mix for a variation in texture. It worked out quite nicely. I finished the meal with a small, refreshing navel orange.

WP_002166

During dinner, I saw one of the nurses, Kris, make a face and grab her belly. “Are you okay?” Guess what? She was having contractions! I’ve delivered babies, but its pretty cool seeing someone who belly you watched grow, start having contractions!

I was pulled to another 1:1 on my night shift. I usually dread night shift 1:1 because I’m terrified that I’ll fall asleep. This one was different. This patient shared a very similar background with me. We got to talking. While my patient sleep, I drew a picture about the true meaning of “beauty”, and wrote a note on the back. Ironically, this patient drew a picture of me and wrote a note on the back. Great minds think alike. We shared our email addresses. They say to be careful what information you share with your patients, but I find that sometimes, in order to deliver your best care, you need to bend this rule a bit. Sharing a similar story with your patient, makes them trust you. Its like give and take: they share, you share, they share even more. Anyway, I love making connections with my patient’s and trying to be there for them, not just when I am on the clock. I’m glad I met this patient.

WP_002164 ??????????????

 

(My patient is obviously much more artistically inclined than I am.)

One thought on “A Sucker for Staying Power

  1. Pingback: Raspberry and Chocolate | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

