Newark Deli and Bagel

Yesterday breakfast was oh so simple and oh so yummy: Toasted Blueberry Crumble bread, by Sara Lee, topped with Bar Harbor Blueberry Jam, my favorite! It was compliment with a navel orange and my new coffee I got when I had a layover in Denver.

WP_002112 WP_002116

I was expecting, I guess, a syrup flavor, in the coffee, as if I would receive it from a coffee shop. Instead, it was a mild mocha flavor (I love mocha). I really enjoyed its subtle flavors.

After trying to cram in some studying, I headed off for an interesting  and semi-frustrating night at work. I can’t share much, due to HIPPA, but I can say it involved an aggressive patient. I love my job, but some days are rough.

I was thankful for my dinner break, not only because I needed a breather, but also because dinner was delicious! I was pretty darn impressed by this Lean Cuisine meal: Ranchero Braise Beef with Chipotle Mashed Sweet Potatoes! I brought some frozen corn to have with it. It was sweet, with just a bit of spice! The corn was the perfect pair for this meal! I called dad and insisted he try this meal for lunch one day at work, just like I totally insist you, give this one a try!

WP_002119

This morning, mom and I woke up early to go food shopping . While in the area, I took mom to one of my favorite breakfast spots: Newark Deli and Bagel (lovingly called “NDB”)! They make all the bagels in house, and they are delicious! They are also known for their chicken salad. Dad loves this stuff! One of his favorite things is chicken salad on a toasted asiago bagel. Their breakfast are phenomenal! Crispy bacon! Juicy sausage! They even have egg whites! This morning, I split a sandwich with mom, one they I never had before. I ordered a rye bagel with egg whites, tomato, roasted turkey, and pepperjack cheese! MMMM I’m definitely getting this one again! That half a sandwich, paired with a small caramel nut coffee, was perfect and it held me over for most of the day!

WP_002121

Work tonight was consistent. Dinner was another Lean Cuisine, one, for which, I had high expectations: Roasted Garlic Chicken with creamy Parmesan spinach. I added steamed broccoli  I really expected a better flavor. There was not as much garlic as I had hoped, in fact, there was not as much flavor as I had hoped.

WP_002123

I start my new clinical rotation, tomorrow, at a long term care facility for the elderly. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

