Belly Aches

Have you ever given yourself a stomach ache?

Last night was so much fun reuniting with some of my friends. We went out for Indian food and then headed to the bar. I am not a big drinker, but since im on vacation and with my girlfriends, I figured ‘What the heck?’

We went to Billy Berks Cocktail Bar. Kristin ordered an X-Rated Martini, while I went with a Mango Mojito. YUM!

WP_001954                             WP_001955

Then Kristin talked me into what’s called a Chocolate Cake Shot. I’ve never had this before, but it really did taste like chocolate!

WP_001956

We continued some shenanigans and when I woke up this morning, I began to feel some anxiety about I’ll of the calories I took in last night.

I met up with some friends for breakfast at the hotel buffet, then walked with my advisor to Bijan Bakery. I grabbed a few cookies to try and ate two delicious chocolate cookies filled with chopped nits. On my walk back to hotel, I began to feel even more stressed about the calories, that by the time I reached the hotel, I worked up quite a stomach ache. So much so, I got sick.

My dad keeps reminding me that I am on vacation and shouldn’t stress about a few days of splurging. During this trip, I have done very well with choosing healthy options for my meals.

I don’t typically drink because I feel like I’m wasting calories, and I feel like my splurging is catching up.

It takes 3500 calories to gain a pound. It take me 300 calories over my typically daily allotment to have an anxiety attack. Sad, isn’t it?

After getting sick, I decided that I couldn’t let this rule my day. I called my parents to talk things through, to settle me down, and look forward to the rest of the day.

The convention, for me, today, began with the 4th General Session, consisting of a C4 speech and International Officer candidate speeches. C4 stands for Community College Completion Corp working toward encouraging all college student complete their degrees! Edit the past few years, this has been a major platform for Phi Theta Kappa, and Dr. Rod Risley, the Executive Director, the big cheese of headquarters delivers a speech. This year he had a great speech about engaging faculty and staff in the effort as well as students.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Be the change you wish to see to see in the world,” says Gandhi.  We are all committed to complete our degree, help others complete their degrees, and to continue to make PTK even better!

Following some recognitions  were the candidate speeches. This was difficult because two of my friends from my region are running for Division I International Vice President.

I met up with my girlfriends after this, at their hotel and utilized the hot tub! Following this, I went to the gym in my hotel. I was tired and still nursing my stomach ache, but I wanted to feel like I had done something, anything.

 

Leave a Reply

