Johnny Garlics

3:30am- hit the snooze alarm and roll overWP_001746

3:35am- dad calls, “Are you up?” “5 more minutes”

This sleep deprived lady woke up, threw he last minute items in her bag, made some coffee, and was out the door to catch a 6:30am flight. Whenever I catch a flight, dad and I always swing by Dunkin Donuts for their latest breakfast. This morning, we split the new Steak, Egg, and Cheese wake-up wrap. I was surprised how tasty it was.

After a big hug, I boarded the plane. A little over 5 hours later, we landed in Las Vegas. I was definitely bummed that I was in Vegas and didn’t even get to get off the plane. I was able to sleep for about an hour or so on the first flight, but as soon as we took off from Vegas, I was out! As for on board snacking, I had brought some bars to hold me over. Can you guess what flavor my taste buds were wanting?

WP_001751

I went with the South Beach bar. It tastes like a cookie! I wound up making friend with the gentleman next to me ans we worked on sudoku and crossword puzzles. I was surprised that the airline actually had 100 calorie packs… bring on the Lorna Doones!

WP_001752 WP_001753 WP_001754 WP_001755 WP_001756 WP_001757

Once my grogginess wore off and I entered the San Jose terminal, we grabbed the rental car and headed for a late lunch, which was really our dinner. I was stoked to head to Johnny Garlics. This restaurant was a must on my trip. Its Guy Fieri’s restaraunt.

????????

 

 

WP_001775 WP_001765

We were greeted with a basket of the best focaccia I’ve ever eaten. It was much softer and airier than any focaccia I’ve ever tried and it was seasoned with tons of garlic and herbs. I saw Guy talk about some dishes on Diners, Drive- Ins, and Drives, and ever since I saw it, I knew I needed to try it. The dish that I chose is actually an appetizer, and I rounded it out with some grilled asparagus. Sashimi Won Tacos! Marinaded Sashimi Ahi Tuna, in a fried shell, topped with mango jicama salsa, and drizzled with a wasabi soy mayo. They were all served over a bed of shredded cabbage, carrots, and bell pepper. Wow! The tuna had almost a teriyaki flavor, and the sweet fruits of the salsa paired with the heat of the wasabi perfectly!

WP_001771

 

My chapter advisor and her husband, who joined me for lunch, got the Roasted Garlic soup. I love garlic soup, so I tried some of hers and it was fabulous and topped with grated cheese! My advisor got the Bourbon Buffalo Meatloaf, served with garlic mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus, and her husband opted for the lunch special of half a Sonoma salad and half a Cajun Chicken Fetttucine.

WP_001768 WP_001772 - Copy WP_001773

We finally checked into our hotel and I dove into my bed. But I needed to go register for the convention. Afterwards, I headed back to the room to unpack and call the parentals (theres a 3 hour time difference). We found out that there is nothing but restaurants in Downtown San Jose, so we had to drive to a SafeWay to grab some water. While I was there, I also grabbed some fruit to keep in my room along with two bottles of wine to bring home…

WP_001783        WP_001784

Yeah… they sell liquor next to the rolls!

After a shower, I was ready for bed!

WP_001780

Leave a Reply

