Easter Sunday

Happy Easter, everyone!

This morning began with Easter mass, one of my favorite masses of the year. I love seeing a packed Church, all the little kids in their Easter outfits, and reuniting with people I haven’t seen in years (like kids I went to grade school with, and people my dad when to grade school with! Yeah, its a pretty tight congregation)!

WP_001718

The beautiful altar. I belong to the most beautiful Church I’ve ever seen!

??????!

One of my best friends, Paul.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After stopping by the cemetery, I headed home to prepare Easter breakfast. I found a recipe for Carrot Cake Waffles a while back and immediately knew that  I had to make these today! Using Katie’s recipe, I adapted them to be whole wheat and low fat waffles. I also made a cream cheese drizzle to go on top (whats carrot cake without cream cheese frosting?), and accented the dish with some crushed walnuts. I hope you enjoy!

Carrot Cake Waffles with Cream Cheese DrizzleWP_001719

makes 8-10 waffles

Waffles:

3/4 cup Heart Smart Bisquick

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

2/3 cup shredded carrots

1 cup flax milk (milk of your choice)

2 Tbsp sugar free syrup

2 Tbsp unsweetened apple sauce

1 1/4 tsp cinnamon

2  1/2 tsp vanilla extractWP_001723

Cream Cheese Drizzle:

1/4 cup fat free cream cheese, room temp

4 Splenda packets

1/4 cup flax milk

1 tsp confectionery sugar (I use Ideal brand)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Combine all the waffle ingredients in a bowl and whisk together. Heat your waffle iron and heavily coat with non-stick cooking spray. Pour 3/4 to 1 cup of batter on heated and sprayed waffle iron. (You can add more milk if you want to thin out the batter). Cook until your liking. Whisk all ingredients for cream cheese frosting together. Drizzle frosting over waffles and top with shopped walnuts.

After some operator difficulties, they were beautiful! I loved the coloring of these waffles and the bit of natural sweetness that carrots release when they are cooked. I really enjoyed these and cant wait to make them again. The drizzle was just sweet enough to really play off the carrots. I served these with some super quick and easy Banquet Brown n’ Serve Maple Sausage Patties. The maple sweetness accented the syrup in the waffles!

WP_001720

Using the ingredients above, each waffle only contains about 80 calories or so! And you get a some vegetables early in the day!

I bet these would be pretty spectacular Belgium waffles, too!

With it being the end of Lent, I took a nibble of a protein bar today while dad got back his chocolate! We both messed up once on Lenten promises, which I think is pretty good.

WP_001725

A typical Easter dinner in the Bundo house is a bake spiral ham, fingerling potatoes, cabbage and green beans. This year, I will be working. Frank surprised me and baked a ham just in time for me to take some to work. To substitute for the cabbage, I brought some brussel sprouts. I think I’m the only person in my house who loves these little balls of leafy goodness! I finished this meal with an Easter brownie!

WP_001728

It doesn’t look too appetizing in this picture, but it most certainly was!

I thought I'd try bring the Easter Bunny to work

I thought I’d try bring the Easter Bunny to work (looks more like a cat)

As arrived home after a busy shift, I had two feelings: sleepiness and a hankering for ham. I entered to kitchen to find 1 left over waffle from this morning. I folded this in half and laid a few slices of spiral ham while some lemon tea brewed! A great way to end my Easter night!

As I drove to work and reflected on the day, I started remembering some Easter memories from my childhood. The one I can see most clearly is when I was about 9 years old. My mom said, “What else did the Easter Bunny bring you? Whats behind the picture?” The picture she was refering to was one of those RoseArt velvet coloring pictures… anyway… I peak around the back of the picture to find two rectangular papers. As I read the tickets to myself, it clicked and I began jumping up and down. “What is it?” my mom said. “I GOT BACKSTREET BOY TICKETS!!!!”

HAHAH yes, I was a BSB junkie back in the day and BSB was my first concert! What are some of your favorite Easter memories?

One thought on “Easter Sunday

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Waffles | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

