St. Patty’s Day

Happy St. Patty’s Day! I hope you are all having fun with friends and family and staying safe!

Last night was our final show of the Vagina Monologues! It was pretty spectacular and I must say, I’m going to miss it! Even though I will be graduating this year, I am still allowed to be in it. Needless to say, I can not wait till next year!

This year, I was in the monologue “Beat the Girl.” For those of you who don’t know, this scene is an interview with 5 transgender women. Its the story of who they questioned themselves as children, tried to deny it, excepted who they truly were and the reactions of the societies around them. Its a wonderful piece!

WP_001561 WP_001564 WP_001565 WP_001566 WP_00156845483_10151825022531632_997146369_n 269278_10152695536690228_1860418067_n 487825_10152694255920228_609145494_n 537489_10152694257815228_2055530092_n

Before I left for the show, I made something that I found online a while back. I could not remember exactly what it entailed so I played it by ear and it was really tasty!

Waffle Bake:

1 frozen waffle, cubed

1/8 to 1/4 cup of blueberries (feel free to experiment with other fruits, I know I will)

1/4 cup liquid egg whites,or 1 egg

cinnamon, to taste

cooked, crumbled bacon (optional)

syrup and butter (optional)

Toss thawed and diced waffle in egg whites and cinnamon. Pour into a ramkin and cover with foil. Bake at 350 F for 20 minutes. Add blueberries and bacon. Recover and bake for another 20 minutes. Remove from the oven, uncover, and top with butter and syrup.

WP_001559

I forgot the darn bacon,and didn’t need the butter. I topped mine with Walden Farms Blueberry Syrup, which I really like! The picture was taken under absolute horrible lighting and does not do this mini meal justice. I would love to hear what other fruits or alterations you all have for this so comment below!

After the show, and a bunch of hugs, we headed back to my best friends apartment to prep for the after party.

WP_001571 WP_001574 WP_001575 WP_001576 WP_001578 WP_001579

We spent majority of the night at our friend, Eric’s, house, were I ran into a bunch of old friends. Since I really isolated myself this past summer, it was phemon to see everyone!

The night was spent sipping on some green Skippy*, chatting and dancing. I have learned throughout my college life that alcohol, especially in excess, even on St. Patty’s Day, is not a necessity to have a good time. This is especially true when you have such goofy and fun-loving friends like mine!

*Skippy is a UD specialty… It sounds absolutely terrible, but its quite good. Even my dad likes it! Its beer, citrus vodka, and concentrated frozen lemonade.

Usually, I” make breakfast for everyone in the morning to nurse everyone’s grogginess. Maggie was a head of the game, and bought bagels yesterday, making my job much easier.

Me, on the other hand, I whipped out an Orange Cream OIKOS and ground flax.  I was super happy that I did so well in my eating last night. Typically, I let socializing influence my eating, but last night, I listened to my body.

WP_001581

Dinner tonight is yet another frozen dinner: Lean Cuisine Roasted Turkey and Vegetables, adding additional green beans, of course.

WP_001584

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I typically splurge on McDonald’s Shamrock Shake. Although its a once a year treat, I still thought I’d share this recipe with you for a Shamrock Swap! This is a Hungry Swap. I have not tried it yet, but at least now I can make a guilt-free Shamrock Shake whenever the urge strikes! If you make this, let us know what you think in the comments below!

Happy St. Patty’s Day!

WP_001569

Leave a Reply

