Backstreets Back

Yesterday, when I packed my salad and yogurt, I wanted something to keep it cold, well, cool, at least.

I could not find my lunch box, however, I could find my very old lunch box.

WP_001401

I thought you’d all get a kick out of that.

I woke with one thing on my mind… breakfast, specifically a  breakfast sandwich! In honor of National Frozen Foods Day, I compromised and whipped out a Special K frozen Sausage, Egg, and Cheese on Multigrain Flatbread breakfast Sandwich (with hot sauce, of course). Ok, two things on my mind…. Coffee!

WP_001408

Lunch was a shake. I found a recipe awhile back made it today:WP_001409 WP_001414

3/4  cup  chopped kale, ribs and thick stems removed

1  small stalk celery, chopped

1/2  banana

1/2  cup  apple juice

1/2  cup  ice

1  tablespoon  fresh lemon juice

I was really excited because my shake looked like Christmas (the green from the veggies and the red from the apple skins). It was a filling shake, but definitely not tops. I can’t see myself making this again. However, it did give me another throwback to my childhood As I cut up the fruit, I could not help but to sing….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mFfvbu02JTI

I was a big Barney fan back in the day!

Today is a studying kind of day! I need to kick some serious butt on these next two exams!

The remainder of my day was spent with my nose in the books. Snacking of course, was necessary to give me some brain power. Two snacks were particularly aces in my book:
Wasa Light and Crisp cracker with sunflower butter and nutella, sprinkled with sunflower seeds! A banging 100 calorie snack!

WP_001416

My dessert for the night was a makeshift parfait. I was all out of fresh fruit but I still had some fruit cups and thus a fruit cup and cottage cheese parfait was born. It was topped with some ch-ch-ch-chia seeds for a little texture!

WP_001418

2 thoughts on “Backstreets Back

Leave a Reply

