Is this the feeling of being a nurse?

I heard the doorbell rang, and I could not go back to sleep. So I woke up and made a shake to wake me up, fill me up, and help replenish my muscles from the morning workout. Since today is National Peanut Butter Lover Day, I threw together the classic:

spinachWP_001376

1 Tbsp Low Sodium Better n’ Peanut Butter

2 scoops Chocolate Metabolife

1/4 tsp xanthum

ice

Night shift was smooth sailing with the exception of a few fevers. And my eating was good, too!

WP_001378 This included some garlic and cauliflower soup (I’ll share the recipe later), baby carrots, and a clementine!

As soon as I got home, I crashed! I woke up around 1 pm, just in time to get ready for another shift.

To give myself some energy, I ate Chobani Blood Orange Greek yogurt topped with chia. Is it supposed to taste a little orange-y?? I did not get that…WP_001382

Before leaving for work, I ate this baby…

WP_001373

A dark chocolate covered pineapple that I picked up from the Farmer’s Market. Interesting…

Tonight, something amazing happened. I’ve never been more flattered! A mom grabbed me and told me to visit her daughter. Apparently, her Aunt brought her a stuffed puppy dog and she sleeps with it every night. Her mom asked her why she named the puppy, “Sammy.” She said, “after my nurse friend Sammy!” I was floored! So sweet! Is this what it feels like to be a nurse? To establish that relationship with a patient? I love it!

Dinner was Chicken and Carrot ravioli topped with green beans and basil pesto. Yum!

WP_001385

I ate dinner early so I got hungry around 9:30pm and grabbed a snack pack of Lorna Doones. This was my first interaction with these cookies and i must say, they were satisfying and delicious.

A girl from work kept talking about calzones and chicken wings on our way out the door and I started to crave a calzone! My step dad ordered pizza last night so when I got home I snacked on a piece of left over.

My eating is not perfect but it is getting better every day and I’ve been more in tune with being able to recognize fullness. Thank God!

 

Leave a Reply

