Black and Gold

I was hoping to get some sleep after work, but instead, I made a trip to Wholefoods, made some Garlic and Cauliflower soup, and took a quick 45 minute nap. This nap is what powered me for the remainder of the day.

Every year, my girlfriend’s sorority host a Black & Gold Party. Each girl brings two dates. Its a way for the new inductees to meet other people. I’m a date every year.

This year was different, though. It was like I was back! I drank a little, I celebrated my friends birthday with some cake and nachos (without a panic attack), I socialized and laughed and danced, and reunited with some old friends. (And I had my first Bobbie hoagie since recovering!)

WP_001340

Birthday Boy!

WP_001339

The Bobbie

WP_001342

Birthday Shot

So much cheese!

So much cheese!

WP_001346 WP_001350 WP_001354 WP_001356 WP_001360 WP_001362 (1) WP_001365 WP_001367

My crew of friends make the same cake for everyone’s birthday. Why? Because its that good! Its called the “Better than Sex” cake. I’m trying to figure out a way to make it a little healthier, but heres the jist:

Bake a Devil’s Food cake according to package instructions. While still hot, remove from oven and poke holes in the top with a fork or chop stick. Pour a can of sweetened condensed milk over top. Drizzle with caramel topping and cover with cool whip. Lastly, top the cake with chopped Heath Bars.

WP_001371I crashed at my girlfriend’s apartment and woke up early to head to campus, making a pit stop at 7-Eleven for some much needed coffee. I could feel some anxiety starting to set in as I thought about all the calories I had consumed last night. Immediately, as I arrived on campus, I headed toward the gym and had one of the best, and sweatiest workouts I’ve had in ages! I completes Julie’s Make Your Face Sweat Treadmill Workout . She was not kidding when she said “sweat.” I know I have a good workout when my shirt is wet from sweat! Minutes 32 to 40 really intimidated me but I pushed forward. I needed to adjust this just slightly. Every so often during those ten minutes or so, I dropped back down to 4.0 speed to catch my breath a bit (for about 30 seconds), but enough to still keep my heart rate up. Even with the modifications, I managed to run 3.88 miles an burn around 500 calories! SWEET!

After this, I asked the girl at the gym to make me a circuit, explaining that I just wanted to burn today! With a few modifications to her set-up, this is what was completed.

10 reps Chest Press 25lbs 2 sets
10 reps Lat Pull Down 40lbs 2 sets
10 reps Tricep Extensions 10lbs 2 sets
10 reps Row 40lb 2 sets
1 min High Plank
10 reps Weighted Squats 5lb in each hand 2 sets
8 each leg Lunges with Bicep Curls 5lb in each hand 1 set
10 and 10 reps Calf Raises (alternate 10 normal pace and 10 fast) 3 sets
1 min High Plank
15 each leg Bird Dog Crunch* 1 set
25 reps Double Crunch 1 set
25 reps Bicycle Crunch 1 set
1 min Modified Plank

* While returning to starting position touch elbow to knee to form a crunch

** I attached two links in case you were unsure about the form of these exercises

I finished with ten minutes on the elliptical. After a shower, I grabbed my laptop from the car, enjoyed a protein and fiber fix in the form of Chobani Flip Vanilla Golden Crunch topped with ground flax and hit the library to watch a lecture before class.

WP_001372

Leave a Reply

