Tamale Pie: Crock Pot Recipe #10

Yay! We did it! 10 new crock pot recipes before the end of February!

Dad seemed super excited about this one! He actually found this recipe.

Southwestern Tamale PieWP_001292

serves 8

Filling Ingredients:

1 lb lean ground beef
1 lb lean ground turkey

3 Tablespoons chili seasoning
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
2 cans (14 1/2 ounces each) stewed tomatoes, cut-up
1 can (14 1/2 ounces)  beans , drained and rinsed (1/3 dry beans, then partiallycooked)
1 can (4 ounces) chopped fire-roasted green chiles
1/2 cup water
Cornbread Topping Ingredients:

1 box (8 1/2 ounces) corn muffin mix
1 cup fat free shredded Cheddar cheese
Directions:

Brown ground meat in large skillet on medium-high heat; drain.Place ground beef in slow cooker. Add chili seasoning, onion powder, stewed tomatoes, beans, chiles and water. Mix all ingredients well.Cover and cook 8 hours on low.

Then prepare the cornbread topping. Increase the heat setting to high. Prepare corn muffin batter as directed on package. Drop batter by spoonfuls on top of filling in slow cooker. Cover. Cook 30 minutes longer or until toothpick inserted into center of cornbread topping comes out clean. Turn off slow cooker. Sprinkle cornbread topping with cheddar cheese,  cover for 5 minutes longer until cheese begins to melt.

I browned the ground beef last night, so this morning I could just dump everything in the crock and skidaddle off to clinical.

Mom and dad both enjoyed this. I needed to add hot sauce.  Next time, I think I’ll add another can of chiles. It must have been good though, because I’ve never seen my mom eat so fast and ask for seconds!

WP_001297

After clinical, I planned on stopping by campus on my way home to take advantage of their gym… well, with all the construction, I missed the exit… Therefore, I decided to tackle another day of Couch to 5K. The pace picked up on this one with longer intervals of running!

Although the day started off great, it ended miserably. This eating disorder reared its ugly head, again. Its amazing what the min can do. I actually ate and ate with the intention of purging. I so I purged.

I can’t figure out why this is still happening. I’m spiraling down and I feel like I’m falling deeper. I try so hard to remember mantras to keep my head up but theres always that other voice in my head, reminding me how much I’ve failed myself. This is all so new to me.

2 thoughts on “Tamale Pie: Crock Pot Recipe #10

  1. The food was delicious. Keep up the good work, and know that food is to be enjoyed. Not eaten and wasted. You look great. Don’t let the voices inside derail you. Love you bunches !!

  2. Pingback: Crock Pot Challenge Recap | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

