Pumpkin Cinnamon Buns: Crock Pot Recipe #8

I could not resist when I found this on a vegan recipe page!

I prepared everything this morning and headed to Church. (Yes, I woke up early on my day off). When I arrived home, after a run, the smell of fall spices was in the air!

I prepared them Sammy style, but check the original recipe for the vegan way.

Ingredients:
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup granulated Splenda
1 package active dry yeast
1/2 cup unsweetened flax milk
1/4 cup water
3/4 cup Libby’s pure pumpkin
1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1 Flaxseed egg (1 TBS flaxseed to 1 1/2 TBS warm water, let it sit for 5 minutes)
1/4 tsp sugar (to help activate the yeast)
Filling Ingredients:
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 Tbsp plus 2 tsp Splenda brown sugar
2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp ginger
1 tsp ground gloves
Icing Ingredients:
4 oz fat free cream cheese, soft
2 1/2 Tbsp granulated Splenda
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Directions:
Prepare flaxseed egg. Combine flour, sugar and yeast in a large bowl. Fold in milk, water, pumpkin, flaxseed egg and applesauce into dry ingredients. Form into a ball and let it sit in bowl, covered with a towel, for 30-45 minutes. Roll the dough into a rectangle on a lightly floured surface.
Mix together filling and brush the dough with it.
Roll the rectangle long side to long side and pinch the ends to seal. Slice the log into 12 to 14 rolls.
Place in wide and very well sprayed crock pot and cook on high for 60-90 minutes. Use a toothpick to determine if fully cooked.
Mix up icing and pour over hot rolls. Top with pecans, walnuts, raisins, or what ever you’d like.
WP_001268 WP_001269  WP_001273
WP_001275 WP_001276
I went for a quick run to knock out another day of Couch to 5K. I’m hoping that this helps fuel me for a productive day.
Dad came over after Church to enjoy these sticky buns and a cup of coffee!
The Verdict: the consistency of the buns were perfect and I could not believe how much the buns grew; however, there was too much clove for the tastes of this family, and not enough sweetness. This recipe has tremendous potential and dad and I are excited to play around with it. (Dad is like a little kid when he bakes… he loves cookie cutters!)
I sprinkled a bit of Splenda over top to help add some sweetness.WP_001277
Don’t get me wrong, these things are most definitely edible, but they need some work.
When I was ready to roll the dough, I searched high and low for the rolling pin. Then I remembered I left it at my dads house…
So I laid down some plastic wrap over the dough and improvised.
           WP_001271
Thank you, Libby!
4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cinnamon Buns: Crock Pot Recipe #8

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Challenge Recap | Be Well Bundo

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Buns | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

