Bakeri Bake-Off

Yesterday, I mentioned I made one of my favorite breakfast/dessert recipes. I can’t wait to share it with you.

WP_000455          WP_000458

WP_000463         WP_000459

When I visited Meaghen, back in December, she took me to this quaint coffee shop called Bakeri. It was small, everyone was incredibly friendly and you can watch the food being made right in front of you. They had scones, muffins, cookies, quiche, brownies, focaccia, sandwiches, and so much more! My first morning in Brooklyn I enjoyed some sort of caffeine that I let the expert order for me, a snicker doodle and lavender bar, and a delicious coffee cake!

WP_000461 (1)

The back yard

WP_000462

such a tiny shop

WP_000457

the inspiring breakfast

This recipe is a great way to use up that fruit thats turning a little quicker than you want it to. I’m pretty proud of this recipe, too! Baking is not for everyone, its a real science and this is the first baked dish that I measured out and created solely on my own.

Apple-Cranberry-Pear Walnut Coffee CakeWP_001250

serves 12

2 very ripe pears

2 medium very ripe apples

1 1/4 cup fat free sour cream

1/2 cup finely diced walnuts

1 Tbsp Brummel and Brown Yogurt spread, or butter

1 cup granulated Splenda

1/2 liquid egg whites

2 cups Presto self-rising cake flour, measure after sifting

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup whole frozen cranberries

Streusel:

1/4 cup Splenda brown sugar

1/4 cup whole wheat flourWP_001252

1/3 cup Fiber One bran cereal, measure then pulse in processor until fine

1 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce

1/2 Tbsp ground flax (optional)

1 Tbsp granulated Splenda

Combine sour cream through baking soda. Dough will be thick. Stir in the cranberries. Spoon a little less than half in a 9 x 9 baking dish that has been sprayed with some non stick spray. Spread the thick mixture evenly over the bottom with a spoon and ensure it reaches the corners. Let this layer settle, while roughly peeling, coring, and thinly slicing the apples and pears. Spread two-thirds of the sliced fruit over the settled layer of dough. Pour the remaining dough over top and spread evenly. Top with the remained fruit and pat fruit into dough with fingers.

Combine the ingredients for the streusel (brown sugar through flax) in a bowl and mix well. Using you hand, sprinkle to sticky mixture over the cake. Sprinkle the white Splenda evenly over top.

Cover the dish with foil and bake for 20-25 min at 350 F. Uncover and lightly pat down the streusel and bake for another 20-25 min.

Cut into 12 squares while still warm and enjoy!

WP_001257Facts:   1 serving (1/12 recipe)

Calories: 225

Fat: 3.3g

Sat. Fat: 0g

Cholesterol: 0mg

Sodium: 368 mg

Carbs: 40.8g

Fiber: 3.9g

Sugar: 9.4g

I love how the tartness of the cranberries pairs with the sweetness and earthiness of the apples and pears! Its the perfect amount of sweet! This can be eaten room temp or warmed up. (I like slicing a piece in half, warming it in the microwave,  and adding a side of vanilla ice cream to make it a dessert!)

If you are ever in Brooklyn, I suggest Bakeri! Its quaint and cozy, friendly, and all their food is made with love! I can’t wait to go back!

Today, I was supposed to meet up with Katie, my sponsor to work out… but tell that to my car…

WP_001261So I wound up making breakfast with some leftover hot Italian turkey sausage, sun-dried tomatoes, onions, and   peppers. I topped the eggwhites with a bit of fat free shredded mozzarella. Mom really enjoyed it, and so did I!

WP_001263

After some more procrastination, I finally got myself to sit down and watch a bit of a  lecture.

PS. Bakeri’s cookies are to die for! Salted chocolate and cherries!

WP_000460

WP_000600

Enjoy your Saturday!

2 thoughts on “Bakeri Bake-Off

  1. Pingback: Strawberries and Mango | Be Well Bundo

  2. Pingback: When Did We Get So Old? | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

