Fleece-Lined Leggings

Probably one of the best investments I’ve ever made was buying fleece-lined leggings at the New Castle Farmer’s Market. They are amazing! They are thick enough to wear as bottoms with a long top, flexible enough to work out in, thin enough to wear under my scrub pants (scrub pants aren’t exactly the warmest), and, oh gosh, I live in these things! I wear them under my scrub pants at clinical and work this time of year and they keep me toasty but not sweating. I ran my 5 miles yesterday in them. They kept me flexible, unrestrained, warm, but breathable.

They are like the ultimate transition wear: wake up, put on tights, work out, slide on scrubs, come home take off pant, work out…

I HIGHLY recommend getting yourself some of these babies!

Today, I worked day shift. One my cold drive in, I snacked on a Nature Valley Recharge granola bar, Cranberry Almond. I was surprised how much I liked it better than the Cherry Dark Chocolate!

WP_001105 (1)

I really liked the cranberries in this bar. They weren’t dried out, but juicy. Plus the bar had a nice chewy crunch, which I love!

The highlight of my day, though, was when I decided to assess one of my patients and while doing so, found some skin breakdown that no one had caught before. The nurse said, “Good job, Sam! I’m glad you caught that!” This just made me feel like I was another step closer to becoming a nurse!

Food-wise, I ate a Muller greek strawberry yogurt. I kept seeing this brand on sale 10 for 10 so I gave them a shot. With yogurts that have fruit purees, I tend to cut the sweetness with ground flax. I did so today, and yum!!!

all blended up!

all blended up!     

perfecto!

perfecto!

 

I got hungry a bit later at work and snacked on a Honey Almond Flax Kashi bar. I had never had this before. The honey was so mild but the bar was crunchy, enjoyable, with just a touch of sweetness!

Dinner was one of my favorite breakfasts! I had it the first time at a local restaurant because it just sound like an interesting combination: asparagus and chicken in my omelet? I chopped up two frozen asparagus spears and 2 oz of cooked chicken breast from a roast Joe Reda brought over. Pop these in a pan, pour 1/2 cup liquid egg whites, sprinkle some black pepper, and cover on low. When the egg starts to solidify, sprinkle 2 Tbsp on fat free shredded mozzarella and flip the omelet closed.

mmmmm so good!

mmmmm so good!

I like mine with hot sauce. Yum!

My snacks for the day were a hodgepodge of things like cottage cheese, graham crackers, fruit, etc.

Food wise, the last two days have been pretty good! I’m determined to keep this up!

Mom and I did a quick 10 minute cardio video tonight, since I was too sleepy to do one this morning before work, and I followed it up with Julies Sweat It Out Cardio and Abs Circuit!

Before bed, I prepped tomorrows crock pot dinner… Beef Stew. I know I’ve been slacking on the crock pot recipes, but time is running out and I still have a few more to make before the end of the month. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

