Like a Skyscraper

Today’s Anthem:

I went to sleep late last night, but I woke up around 0830 with a feeling of renewal! Like anything was possible.

Running and music used to be outlets when I was healthy. So I laced up my sneaks, popped on some music and downloaded to couch to 5K app on my phone. I knew that this was what I needed! I opened the from door,and its raining. I looked up, said “Really?! Rain?!”

This was my cue to stick it to the universe. Half way through the run, Skyscraper came on my phone and I felt empowered. I typically don’t care to run to slower songs because it slows me down, but WOW! Today, this song was just what I needed. Demi and I are close in age and have both struggled through depression and eating disorders. I think this song is supposed to be about the media, or applied to a lover, but today, I was talking to myself, this disease. It keeps trying to tear me down. “I will be rising from the ground like a skyscraper.”

WP_001091

The 5 miles felt great!

As I ran back toward my house, the rain starting becoming a bit ice-like, getting ready for the Noreaster.

I was excite for breakfast. I poured a glass of Aloe and ate a Kashi 7 Grain waffle, with 1/2 T Brummel and Brown’s Yogurt Spread and 1/2 T of the most delicious Blueberry Jam of all time! This stuff is from Maine. My girlfriend Maggie goes there every year with her family and they bring this stuff back by the case-load!

WP_001092

Yeah… its just that good!

After my run, I could tell today was going to be a good day!

I ran to the store today because I finished the last of the water the other day. I try not to use plastic bottles, but I’ve had to the last few days. Can lifting 3 five gallon jugs of water count as my strength training for the day? Just kidding.

I did a little tidying up around the house and sat down next to the fireplace to start watching a lecture. No success. This turned into nap time.

Next thing I knew, my dad was ringing the doorbell for dinner. I made a roasted vegetable and spinach salad. I did like last time and sprayed some cauliflower florets, baby carrots, and mushrooms with cooking  spray and tossed in some garlic powder and basil. I baked these in the toaster oven at 400 until the carrots start to dry out and the the cauliflower gets a mildly golden crust. Then I topped the warm veggies over a bed of spinach and drizzled some of the BBQ sauce for NY over it. To finish this beaut off, a sliced some onion and sprinkled some chia seeds.

WP_001098WP_001097 WP_001099 WP_001101 WP_001102

To complete the meal, I baked a VitaPizza, pepperoni supreme style. (I prefer the tomato and cheese one better). Yum!

WP_001104

I’m really glad dad liked the salad because he most def is not a fan of cauliflower.

Then, the most amazing thing happened. The doorbell rang and there stood a man with a box of food. I looked at him, confused. It was Joe Reda, the district representative. He knows we are having some financial troubles, as most families are these days, and he and his wife brought us staple foods, like pasta, cereal, milk… I was floored. I did not know what to say. With everything we hear about the world, its hard to believe that there are still generous and chivalrous human beings out there.

Thank you, Reda Family! You’ll never know how grateful we are! God Bless You!

After the Reda’s left, dad and I dug into a fruit salad and some cottage cheese!

MMMMM

MMMMM

Leave a Reply

