Summertime Blues

One of my absolute favorite things about the summer is the fresh produce, and among this produce, Blueberries.

Oddly enough, I love blueberry everything, but I’m not a huge fan of blueberries, straight up. Blueberries are considered  a super fruit so I love incorporating them into things like blueberry muffins, blueberry banana shakes, cottage cheese, and don’t even get me started on the blueberry preserves my girlfriend brings me back from Bar Harbor! Wowza!

Some Blueberry bars that have made it into my tummy include:

Atkins Blueberry Almond Baked Square

I’m a big fan of tasty and filling snacks with so few calories and carbs! This square has real blueberries and chunks of almonds in every bite! The added drizzle of icing on top is just the sweet tip to tie to square together!

BelVita Blueberry Biscuits

I was always skeptical of the BelVita line. I mean, could they really be that filling? Would this really hold me over? I decided to give it a try after seeing them on sale at the 7-Eleven. I got the Blueberry flavor and, boy, was sure wrong! I was amazed at how much blueberry was in the breakfast biscuits. Not only are their blueberry pieces  the flavor radiates throughout the crackers. They are more like cookies, actually. And, hey, who doesn’t like cookies for breakfast?

Clif Bar Blueberry Crisp

I particularly enjoy this bar as morning meal. The blueberries really shine in this bar. Its filling from the organic oats, and powers you with the organic dates and blueberries. As soon as you tear into the package, you get hit with this unbelievable fruity aroma! The whole bar is swirled with blue, so each bite gives you that mildly sweet and chewy satisfaction. I really enjoy this bar and its great on my super busy days!

Check out the Blueberry Cobbler from Gnu Foods!

KIND Blueberry Pecan+ Fiber

Pecans can be a pretty tasteless nut by itself. I enjoy this bar, but I do wish the blueberry shown through a bit more. But, lets be honest.. you know I’ll eat it… hello, Fiber!

KIND Pomegranate Blueberry Pistachio +AntioxidantsWP_000988

I like the unique flavor the pistachios add to this bar, however, I do wish the fruit would shine through more. But, KIND can never get rid of me. I love them all! The mass amounts of vitamins in this bar helps, too!

WP_001063Larabar’s Blueberry Muffin

I made a note to try this bar twice. I’ll admit, I liked it even better the second time around. There are big pieces of dried blueberries which add texture and tartness, but the flavor is mild enough to not overwhelm your taste buds like some blueberry flavored  items.

Blueberry Bliss Luna BarWP_000989

An amazing breakfast! Its crisp like all Lunas but topped with a blueberry puree to give is some sweetness! MMMM One of my favorites!

Vanilla Blueberry Luna Fiber Bar

Speaking of Luna, once you bite into this one, you’ll never look at another baked, fruit filled bar, again. Eat your heart out, Nutri-Grain!

Leave a Reply

