The Curve Ball

We all have our routines, whether its taking the kids to basketball practice, or Sunday clean up day. I am no different. My clinical schedule begins on Sunday. I wake up early and either head to Church then the hospital, or visa versa. My Sunday consists of paperwork and planning for the week. Monday morning is another early morning. This is when I set my tone for the week. I like to start with a quick morning work out to get my blood pumping and wake me up. Then its time to pack  my lunch for the day, take off my nail polish, take out my nose ring, and get my butt into gear. After clinical, the nose ringing goes back in and then its typically errand running, then home for some patient charting and lunch packing for Tuesday. Tuesday is another early morning, pretty much repeating Monday’s routine, except then I paint my nails (No jewelry or nail polish in the clinical setting). Today, I got thrown a curve ball.

It start like a normal day with my cup of hot tea and morning workout. I was ready for my day. Everything was going fine at the hospital and I started getting really hot. Cue to upset tummy. Bottom line, I got sent home for being sick. Boo! I fell into the bed as soon as I got in the house, and I was out like a light! The sleep was much needed, but still did not have much of an appetite. I knew my body needed some nutrients so I ate the lunch I had packed myself : a classic PB&J with some celery sticks. I made it on some high fiber whole wheat bread, with the new almond butter and some sugar free blackberry preserves (I wish I had my blueberry preserves that I left at dad to celebrate National Blueberry Pancake Day.)

Speaking of Peanut Butter and Jelly… Have your ever had this little beaut?

Just like the real deal... but nuttier!

Just like the real deal… but nuttier!

I was really excited when I first found Kind’s Fruit & Nut Peanut Butter & Strawberry bar a while back. With my first bite, I was immediately hooked and I snag it whenever I get the chance. It really does remind you of a nutty PB and Jelly. To make this bar even better, it has 7g protein and 4g fiber.

I had packed myself a Barre bar for my morning hold over, but since I did not get to eat it, I snacked on this throughout the res tof my day. I’ve had Barre bars before and did not care for them but this one wasn’t too bad. It has the consistancy of a Larabar. The flavor I had was called “ballerina.” This is their spirulina bar. Barre bars were created by two dancers to increase performance without feeling weighted down.

yeah, its green

yeah, its green

For it being a green bar, they did a nice job at covering up that green veggie flavor. I like the toasted coconut in this bar. I don’t think this would be my first choice for an energy bar, but its acceptable. The dates and agave add a mild sweetness. I think this is a bar that you’ll have to try and decide for yourself. I believe I need a take 2 on this one.

One reason why I say, don’t starve yourself, is because you bite the bullet later. Today for example, I did not eat all day until I felt comfortable to eat the PB&J. Then what happened? I was soooo hungry! I went for everything in the kitchen! No good!

With me, I’ve been biting the bullet hard lately! Since recovering from anorexia, my body is making up for lost time. I starved myself for long that now, just the thought of food can put me into a craze! This is not healthy either.

My week got started rocky, but I intended on throwing a curve ball back and reclaiming this week, for me! Tomorrow starts my week, and I’m powering forward with determination, education, and health!

I’m curling up in bed for the rest f the night to soothe this tummy ache with some chamomile tea. Good night!

 

2 thoughts on “The Curve Ball

  1. Pingback: Bye-Bye Bars | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

